Library Resources
Hi, everyone! We are so happy to serve as your library liaisons!
Think of us as your research partners...We can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it!
If you ever want to meet with us for specialized research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment.
The JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
The JWU Writing Lab is open for in-person and online appointments.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1785
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, click Academics tab, Academic Support Services.
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
Search the databases using keywords (most important words) from the topics below. You can also reach out for a research appointment with a librarian, where we can walk you through how to find sources and help you locate research for any topic.
Ideas for topics:
- Nutrition
- Diet
- Exercise
- Yoga
- Meditation
- The holistic approach in counseling
- Spirituality/faith
- Career/Work as it relates to wellness
- Leisure activities as they relate to wellness
- The importance of social support/relationships with family and friends vs. isolation
- Creativity
- Stress management techniques
- The mind-body connection
- Gratitude
- Positive Psychology
- Detaching from devices and social media
- Self-care
- Work/life balance
- Pet assisted Interventions for Wellness
- Internal Locus of Control
- Emotional Awareness & coping
- Sense of Humor
- Cultural Identity
- Gender Identity
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycARTICLES is distributed by different vendors; this version is from EBSCO
- APA PsycINFO is not the same as APA PsycARTICLES. Each has different content. JWU library does not subscribe to APA PsycINFO.
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM 5-TR Clinical Cases
- Access to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources
- Many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Great for an in-depth look into your topic
- Borrow ebooks for up to 21 days
- Download chapters to any device
- Limited printing options
Click on the following topics to link you to all the resources on that topic in our library catalog. Stuck? Reach out to a librarian for help! We've got you.
Possible Group Presentation Topics & Guidelines
Topics (Topics are 1st come, 1st serve so only 1 group can claim each topic below)
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting visit the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
