Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for ENG 1021.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
The library is now hosting online research appointments:
Click here to book an appointment We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu
Did you know you can also chat or text with me? It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page!
Online? Check out the Online Students tab for specific writing help, just for you!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Academic Success Center at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer or professsional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Academic Success Center, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab, right hand side, under Academic Support Services.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open 9 am - 9 pm Mon - Wed, 9-4 Thurs - Fri, and open 2-9 Sun Harborside (closed Sat and Sun at Downcity)
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1309
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academic tab.
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academic tab, under Academic Support Services.
Working on your Argument paper? We've got you.
What *is* the Argument assignment? Good question! Your first challenge is to choose a persuasive topic and then focus in on a controversial aspect of the issue and add in an interesting angle. The argument paper seeks to persuade the reader of the relevance of one particular side of an issue.
Example 1: If you were to choose Texting While Driving, you might explore, as this article did, the impact texting has in terms of fatal car accidents and then persuade readers that technology and more consistent laws are needed to enforce a texting ban. In the following article from Opposing Viewpoints, "Texting While Driving is more Risky Than Driving Under the Influence" the author focuses in on statistics. What makes the article so fascinating is the angle - the heartbreaking examples used, and the shocking statistics which raises questions in terms of which is riskier - texting or drinking while driving.
Example 2: If you were to explore the difficulties in enforcing a Ban on Texting, on the other hand, you might focus in on the privacy issues involved in using technology to enforce a ban. In the following article from Opposing Viewpoints, 'Textalyzer' Aims To Curb Distracted Driving, But What About Privacy? the author explores the privacy concerns in using technology to monitor texting. This author argues persuasively that technology creates legitimate, and substantial privacy concerns. What makes this piece so compelling is the focus on the privacy issues as opposed to a safety or criminal justice angle.
Start here:
Use Academic Search to search for articles on specific angles for your persuasive paper. For example, if you're focusing on Texting while Driving use the search box to find scholarly, or magazine articles on "Texting" or "Cell Phones", along with your angle, such as "Texting ban".
Use Opposing Viewpoints to search for controversial articles on specific angles for your paper. For example, if your topic is "Texting while driving", use the search box to find different points of view on a Texting Ban. Looking at both sides of a topic makes whatever side you take even stronger, because you can argue a more balanced point of view.
Use Statista for fast, compelling statistics to cite in your paper. Statistics on 60,000 topics in just a click of a button! For example, searching for "texting" brings up a variety of statistics, including a report on teenage text habits. In Teens and Distracted Driving Texting, talking and other uses of the cell phone behind the wheel, for example, the report states that "One in three (34%) texting teens ages 16-17 say they have texted while driving." Using persuasive statistics can help to strengthen your particular point of view, and paint a picture of what is at stake.
Wondering how to get started on your Problem/Solution research paper? No worries! Your first challenge is to choose an interesting topic, and then focus in on the most fascinating angle. Researching multiple approaches to solving the problem creates the strongest argument.
Example: If you were to choose Texting While Driving as the topic, you might recognize texting as a problem, but research the ways in which current laws criminalizing texting while driving are problematic and ineffective, opening the door to multiple creative solutions. In this article from Academic Search Complete, Texting while Driving Meets the Fourth Amendment: Deterring both Texting and Warrantless Cell Phone Searches, the author argues that texting while driving is dangerous (problem) and should be punished with fines, jail time, license suspensions, and interlock devices that prevent use of phones while driving (solutions). However, the author also raises another problem, warrantless cell phone searches, and suggests "trading a confession for a search" as a possible solution.
Pro-Tip: Start with Academic Search Complete by simply clicking the Articles tab on the library's home page.
Use Academic Search Complete to search for articles on specific angles for your Problem & Solution paper. For example, if you're focusing on Texting while Driving use the search box to find scholarly, or magazine articles on "Distracted Driving" or "Cell Phones", along with your angle, such as "Texting Ban" or "Alcohol".
- Enter in your basic search terms, such as "Texting Ban" and Alcohol"
- Limit to Full Text, so you can read articles online
- Check Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
- Scroll down the first page of articles, and click on the most interesting one
- Click on one of the Subject Terms (they're hyperlinked) and see where it takes you!
Use Opposing Viewpoints to search for controversial articles on specific angles for your research paper. For example, if your topic is "Texting while driving", use the search box to find different points of view on a Texting Ban. Looking at both sides of a topic makes whatever side you take even stronger, because you can argue a more balanced point of view.
Pro-Tip: Choose Browse Issues to choose from legit hundreds of topics.
Use Statista for fast, compelling statistics to cite in your paper. Statistics on 60,000 topics in just a click of a button! For example, searching for "texting" brings up a variety of statistics, including a report on teenage text habits. In Teens and Distracted Driving Texting, talking and other uses of the cell phone behind the wheel, the report states that "One in three (34%) texting teens ages 16-17 say they have texted while driving." This statistic helps establish credibility in terms of why the reader should consider the issue you've raised as important.
Looking for research? We can help!
This is a great place to start:
- Scholarly/ Peer Reviewed articles
- Trade Publications
- Magazines and News articles
- Company Information
- Statistics
Pro-Tip: Click Full Text on the left hand side so you can read everything online right away, and look for the Cite button to copy and paste citations (and save a ton of time!)
Reporting & analysis of issues in the news
Need research on controversial topics? This database is your friend. Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.
Pro-Tip: Choose Browse Issues to choose from legit hundreds of topics.​
Looking for statistics to quote, FAST? Check out this awesome database! Just toss in your search term, and you're good to go.
Using Google can be really helpful when you're doing research, especially if you use these quick tips!
1. Change the "Domain"​
- Looking for Government information? Use .gov in your search
- If you search "Statistics on the economy" site:gov, you'll find government sites focusing on the economy, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Looking for Education resources? Use .edu in your search
- If you search "statistics on the economy" site:edu, you'll find academic sites focusing on the economy, such as articles from colleges and universities.
- Looking for Non-Profit research? Use .org in your search
- If you search "statistics on the economy" site:org, you'll find non-profit sites focusing on the economy, such as the United Nations Statistics division.
​2. Put your search in "Quotes"
- If you're searching for more than one word, use quotes to search as a phrase.
- ​EX: "Student Loans"
- A Google Scholar search will bring you lots of academic results, and it is a great place to start.
- If you can't read the articles online, let us know and we'll find the Full Text for you!
Welcome to JWU Online!
As an online student, the library has many resources tailored just for you.
In addition to online databases, e-books, and scholarly journals, as online students, you also have your very own Writing Specialist.
To take advantage of this extremely useful resource, simply visit JWU College of Online Education Student Writing Support online and make an appointment to check out all the ways personal writing support can make a difference in your educational success!
Need research help? Reach out to a librarian for fast and easy support.
Take a peek at the video below for the Top 5 Tips on how the JWU Online Library can help you!
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor or submit your paper to Smarthinking (both in JWULInk, Academics) to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
Did you know that the Providence Public Library is AMAZING and only two blocks away from Downcity? They have thousands of books, films, audio books, music, and special collections that will terrify and intrigue. Seriously. It's amazing and totally 100% free!
Check it out at Providence Public Library
You can learn all about how to get your own super sweet Providence Public Library card here
