Skip to Main Content

Embedded Resources: SNC

MCST4190

 

Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for MCST 4190.

I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question.  Seriously.  I got you!

I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you.  We're here for you!

Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019

Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian?  It's anonymous, free, and super fast!  Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page!

 

Finding Existing Literature Reviews
Start on the library's homepage, by clicking Articles and then Advanced Search.
 
Let's start by adding our topics to this Google Doc
 
As literature reviews may already exist on some aspect of your topic, it is often useful to search databases for them. However, while many databases do not permit one to limit to the specific document type of literature reviews, some do. At any rate, it is usually a good idea when searching a database to enter the particular search term(s) in the first search box and then "literature review" (or the truncated "literature review*" that will retrieve "literature review" and "literature reviews") in the second search box. Here's an example from the database Academic Source Complete
 
 
Below are selected other databases that might be searched for literature reviews:
LGBT Life with Full Text Provides abstracts and citations to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender literature published worldwide. Citations represent periodical articles, books, newspapers, newsletters, case studies, speeches, and other formats. Also includes full text for LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as numerous full text books.

Communication Source: Many full-text articles in this databases from over 600 journals cover Mass Media Studies, Communication Theory, Linguistics, Organizational Communication, Phonetics, and Speech-Language Pathology.
 
Sage Full-text journal articles in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].
Dissertations
As many dissertations and theses have a specific literature review section, the database ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full-Text is often worthwhile searching. Though one may not limit to the particular document type "literature review" in this database, one might search for the term literature review in, say, the abstract:

Moreover, many dissertations have a "literature review" chapter. In the field of Education, it is often the second chapter.
 
 
 
 
 

Citation chaining means searching backwards and forwards in time for materials that are cited by and also that cite an article or resource that you already have.

Backwards chaining is the process of looking at an awesome article(s) you've already found and searching for items in the works cited of those sources, which could be relevant and amazing for your research paper.

Here, you are looking back at past research in an attempt to track the development of the concept you are researching. As you find more resources, and use the citations listed in those reference lists, your network of resources will expand very quickly.

To access the resources you found by backwards chaining, simply copy the citation titles from the reference lists you have and paste them into the library's databases. 

Forwards chaining is the process of finding sources which have cited the awesome articles you are already using.

Here, you are looking forward at research conducted after your existing article, tracking the development of the concept you are researching.

Forwards Chaining

Using Google Scholar  we can also view a list of publications in which the authors' have cited this same article in their work. 

Open Google Scholar and paste the most intriguing article title into the search box from your original search

Underneath the article details, you'll see a Cited by link.  Simply click this link to access those titles/authors which have cited your title in their new research.

Let's start!

Activity: Practicing backwards and forwards citation chaining. 

  • Start by writing down a few search terms on your specific topic.  You might have to try a few terms before you find a good hit.
  • Next, head to the Databases & Journals tab in ulearn, under Library & Resources
  • Choose one of the databases from the list provided, or click the Everything tab on the library's homepage
  • Enter in your keywords, choose Full Text, choose Articles and limit date range to 2005-2019.
  • Scroll through your first page of results, and choose an article that "pops" out at you.
  • Open the red PDF Full Text to read the article
  • Scroll to the last page of the article, until you get to Reference List or Works Cited
  • Choose an article or book from the works cited that "pops" at you, to start your "Chain"
  • You've got your first article on the chain - now let's practice Forward Citation Chaining, using Google Scholar.
  • Choose the best article (the one closest to your dream topic) and copy the title
  • Paste the title into Google Scholar
  • Click the "Cited by..." link, to see all of the articles that have cited this article in their research.
  • Choose one of the articles listed, and POW! You have your second link in the chain.
  • Repeat as needed, until you've found your 6-8 articles.

Tip: articles published in the last few years might be too recent to have any other articles citing them. 

Backward and forward citation chaining
  Resources cited in the article

  Resources that cite the article
  • will be older than the article
  • help you identify past resources on the same topic 
    (such as theories or classic articles)
  • will be newer than the article you've already found  
  • help you identify more recent, relevant research  
  •  

Scholarly Project: The scholarly project should seek to investigate an important problem or issue within the field of media studies. The student should be able to demonstrate the importance of this topic and how such an investigation will make a significant contribution to the field of study. The type of investigation, and methods used, will be project-dependent, but some examples include: critical analyses of media texts, interview/focus group/ethnographic studies of media audiences, political-economic analyses of media industries, historical inquiries, etc. Scholarly essays should be at least 25 pages and contain at least 25-30 sources.

Cite a minimum of 25-30 scholarly sources, not including any interviews, trade, or popular news sources that you may wish to add. Be sure to include at least one article from Popular Communication; (18 month delay) New Media & Society; Celebrity Studies; Journal of American Culture (limited time range) European Journal of American Culture; Critical Studies in Media Communication; Communication/Critical Cultural Studies; Communication, Culture & Critique; or the Journal of Communication.  

Start by exploring articles in the Everything tab on the library's homepage

Need help? Reach out for a Research Appointment with a librarian.

Creative Project: The creative project can be either an original piece of media production, or represent the significant development/revision of a project begun or produced in an earlier course (i.e. completing a screenplay, editing and expanding a series of journalistic investigations, filming a short screenplay, etc.). Regardless of what form this project takes, the student should include a short, research-based, reflective essay that considers the significance of this creative work in relation to a particular body of creative work, or a specific problem/issue within the field of media studies, and explains the specific contribution this project makes within its particular field. Reflective essays should be at least 10 pages (not including the creative project itself) and contain at least 10 sources.

Cite a minimum of 10 sources, not including any interviews, trade, or popular news sources that you may wish to add. Be sure to include at least one article from Popular Communication; (18 month delay) New Media & Society; Celebrity Studies; Journal of American Culture (limited time range) European Journal of American Culture; Critical Studies in Media Communication; Communication/Critical Cultural Studies; Communication, Culture & Critique; or the Journal of Communication.  

Start by exploring articles in the Everything tab on the library's homepage

Need help? Reach out for a Research Appointment with a librarian.

Attach a complete works cited page and cite all sources parenthetically in either MLA or APA style. Check out the OWL for help, or reach out for an appointment with a Writing Coach, submit your paper to Smarthinking, or make a Research Appointment with a librarian.

Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?

1. Save time -  look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.

2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)

3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper

Ta Da!  You're done!  Well, almost.  Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.

       

 

Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations?  Use the OWL!  It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.

Citing Images 

Image label (If including image in your written work):

Fig. 1 New York Sunshine. (WGSN Denim Team, [Sept. 2018]).

In the text:

WGSN Denim Team [Sept. 2018].

In your list of figures or references (omit figure number if you haven't included the image in your assignment)

Figure 1. WGSN Denim Team. [Sept. 2018] New York Sunshine. WGSN. Denim Forecast S/S 20: Empower Up! [Online image]. available from https://www-wgsn-com.jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/content/board_viewer/#/80499/page/1