CLP GDES & ENG 1020
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for CLP GDES 1020 and ENG 1020!
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
The Graphic Design Reference and Specification Book by ISBN: 9781592538515Publication Date: 2013-09-01The Graphic Design Reference & Specification Book should always be next to a designer's computer. Completely practical with only the most needed information, this valuable book provides designers with all the little details that can make or break a design, such as how much space to leave in the gutter when designing barrel folds, how to layout a template for a box, and the ratios of each part, as well as metric conversion charts, standard envelope sizes in the USA, Europe, Canada and Asia, and much more. This hardworking handbook is compact and accessible and is a must-have for any graphic designer.
The Language of Graphic Design by ISBN: 9781592536764Publication Date: 2011-04-01For anyone trying to communicate in a new language, one has to first gain a complete understanding of its fundamentals; the ABC's of that language--definitions, functions, and usage. The Language of Graphic Design provides graphic design students and practitioners with an in-depth understanding of the fundamental elements and principles of their language--graphic design--what they are, why they are important, and how to use them effectively.
Graphic Design and Architecture, a 20th Century History by ISBN: 9781592537792Publication Date: 2012-11-01Graphic Design and Architecture, A 20th Century History closely examines the relationship between typography, image, symbolism, and the built environment by exploring principal themes, major technological developments, important manufacturers, and pioneering designers over the last 100 years. It is a complete resource that belongs on every designer's bookshelf.
Drawing for Graphic Design by ISBN: 9781592537815Publication Date: 2012-07-01Here is a complete, comprehensive drawing reference for design students and professionals alike who want to implement drawing as a professional tool. In Drawing for Graphic Design, Timothy Samara empowers readers to add drawing to their design vocabulary, featuring case studies of commercial projects from start to finish along with a showcase of real-world projects that integrate drawing as an intrinsic part of their visual communication. Filled with original author drawings and sketches, it's a must-have reference that will benefit designers of all levels.
Articles
Back to the Drawing Board: Graphic Design and the Visual Environment of Television at Midcentury
The Top 20 20th Century Topographers
Business Needs Good Design: And good design requires professionals.
Journals
Print portfolios, profiles, regional design, thematic issues, computer advances, historical perspective and provacative articles in all areas of the field.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
- Enhance your skills in business, technology, and creativity with expert-led video tutorials
- Create custom playlists and assign to students or colleagues
- How to use LinkedIn Learning
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at the Center for Academic Support at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open 9 am - 9 pm.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1309
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academic tab.
Off campus or relaxing in your room? You can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours! It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academic tab, under Tutoring.
Did you know that the Providence Public Library is AMAZING and only two blocks away from Downcity? They have thousands of books, films, audio books, music, and special collections that will terrify and intrigue. Seriously. It's amazing and totally 100% free!
Check it out at Providence Public Library
You can learn all about how to get your own super sweet Providence Public Library card here
