Library & Research
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for Community Psychology 3100.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either Downcity or Harborside Libraries for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, the student writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Top Four Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open Mon - Thurs 4-10 pm, Sun 12-10 pm.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment: http://pvd.library.jwu.edu/writinglab
- Email: jwuwritinglab@jwu.edu
Curious about how it all works? Check out this sweet video created by an awesome team of JWU students!
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in JWULink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycARTICLES is distributed by different vendors; this version is from EBSCO
- APA PsycINFO is not the same as APA PsycARTICLES. Each has different content. JWU library does not subscribe to APA PsycINFO.
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM 5-TR Clinical Cases
- Access to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Great for an in-depth look into your topic
- Borrow ebooks for up to 21 days
- Download chapters to any device
- Limited printing options
Psychology Journals
Journal of Community & Applied Social Psychology
Journal of Community Psychology
Counseling & Clinical Psychology
Counseling & Human Development
Psychology, Community & Health
Articles for Literature Review:
Here are a few links to articles on topics to get you started - email me if you'd like to set up a research appointment to help you choose your topic. Pro-Tip: Choose Johnson & Wales on the left hand side in the catalog to limit to Full Text, so you can read right away, rather than order from another college and wait a few days.
Mental Health Community Resources
Project 3: Community Problem
Your first challenge is to find a community problem about which your group is passionate. I've added in some links below to common topics to get you started, but consider making a Group Research Appointment with me to help guide your Final Project. I can find you resources, help you with topic development, and answer any question you may have, from citations to research questions.
Also, check out the links to Psychology Journals under the Literature Review: Articles & Journals tab, above.
The Community Tool Box is an amazing tool, which helps to walk you through the process of choosing a Community Problem to focus on.
Access to Clean Drinking Water
Here's a Sample Paper in APA to help guide you as you write your Reference Evaluation.
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
