CJS1002 Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for CJS1002
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
Stressing out over the textbook? As if we have a copy on reserve at the library.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Center for Academic Success at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Academic Success Center, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academics tab.
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
Looking for MS Office Suite or Microsoft Word? Click here to download it for free!
Research Paper Provide detailed information about an issue in the criminal justice system, focusing on a specific slant.
Strategy:
- Choose a specific slant to the criminal justice system, such as the impact of mental illness on the death penalty.
- Search Criminal Justice Databases (see below), using keywords such as "Capital Punishment" or "Death Penalty" AND "Mental Illness".
- Use the Articles tab from the library's home page and click Full Text
- Make an appointment with a Research Librarian for help
EX: Research Capital Punishment and Race
Using the Articles tab from the library's home page, click Full Text, and Peer Reviewed/Scholarly.
Add keywords and then click Full Text and Peer Reviewed. Click on an article that interests you. Search for a Subject Term which is hyperlinked and leads to other articles on the same topic. People can also be Subject Terms, such as George Stinney, a black 14 year old boy who was unjustly put to death in 1944.:
People: STINNEY, George Junius, 1929-1944
Foerster, Barrett J., and Michael Meltsner. Race, Rape, and Injustice : Documenting and Challenging Death Penalty Cases in the Civil Rights Era. Knoxville: Univ Tennessee Press, 2012. https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=501769&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Steiker, Carol S., and Jordan M. Steiker. 2015. “The American Death Penalty and the (In)Visibility of Race.” University of Chicago Law Review 82 (1): 243–94. https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=102092227&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Many full text articles focused on the criminal justice system including mass incarceration, decriminalization, criminal justice reform, criminal law & procedure, corrections & prisons, police & policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, history of crime, substance abuse & addiction, probation & parole
- Check the "Linked Full Text" button to retrieve only full-text content
If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go or reach out to me for help!
