LAW3080
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for LAW3080
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
Stressing out over the textbook? No worries! Ask if we have copies on reserve at the library.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Academic Success Center at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Academic Success Center, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open 9 am - 9 pm. Mon - Wed. 9-4 Thurs - Fri. Sat & Sun closed at Downcity, Sun 2-9 at Harborside.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academics tab.
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
Looking for MS Office Suite or Microsoft Word? Click here to download it for free!
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- U.S. and international regulatory and statutory law publications, primary historical documents, and writings on jurisprudence
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Many full text articles focused on the criminal justice system including mass incarceration, decriminalization, criminal justice reform, criminal law & procedure, corrections & prisons, police & policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, history of crime, substance abuse & addiction, probation & parole
- Check the "Linked Full Text" button to retrieve only full-text content
If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
CyberLaw – Paper/Presentation Topics - Suggestions
This is NOT meant to be an exclusive list. Students are encouraged to use their own imaginations to develop a topic for both their presentation and/or research paper. Pick something you are excited about - that interests you. This list is just an example of the types of topics which can be explored. When a new topic is examined by passionate students’ everyone benefits from that classroom experience. Please do not feel restrained or confined by this list, it is merely intended to provide some guidance.
Click on the links below to explore library resources by topic, or reach out to a librarian via Ask a Librarian on our home page!
Steamboat Willie - is Mickey Mouse in the public domain? Privacy & Social Media
Europe v. America - different approaches to privacy Should copyright protection be abolished?
Privacy in the work place/Does privacy exist in the 21st century?
Online Gambling Taxing internet sales?
HIPAA Patent vs. trade secret?
Consumer Online Privacy Network Neutrality
Online Piracy – file sharing Internet Censorship – SOPA/PIPA
Open source software licensing Drones
Cyber Crimes (pick one) – e.g. identity theft, espionage, etc. Taxing internet use?
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (Chicago, MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL for Chicago, MLA, or APA! It's super easy, and totally simple. It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor or submit your paper to Smarthinking (both in JWULInk, Academics) to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
