Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for CSLG 5170
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either Downcity or Harborside Libraries for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, the student writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Top Four Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open Mon - Thurs 4-10 pm, Sun 12-10 pm.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment: http://pvd.library.jwu.edu/writinglab
- Email: jwuwritinglab@jwu.edu
Curious about how it all works? Check out this sweet video created by an awesome team of JWU students!
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in JWULink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support.
Cultural Competency: Working with African American/Black Clients
Microaggressions, Multiculturalism, and Gifted Individuals Who Are Black, Hispanic, or Low Income.
Mental Health Care Services for African Americans: Parity or Disparity?
Cultural Competency: Working with Latino/a clients
Latino immigration: Preparing school psychologists to meet students’ needs.
Cultural humility and racial microaggressions in counseling.
Acculturation, discrimination, and depression among unauthorized Latinos/as in the United States.
The efficacy of behavioral activation treatment among depressed Spanish-speaking Latinos.
Cultural Competency: Working with Native American clients
Multicultural Considerations for Counselling First Nations Clients.
Counseling Native Americans: An Introduction for Non-Native American Counselors.
Honoring Their Way: Counseling American Indian Women.
Two Spirit: Counseling Native American gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual People.
Native American Healing Practices and Counseling.
Cultural Competency: Working with East/Southeast clients
Work Experiences of Foreign-Born Asian Women Counseling and Psychology Faculty.
Internationalizing counselling: A Southeast Asian perspective.
Visiting the Site of Death: Experiences of the Bereaved after the 2004 Southeast Asian Tsunami
Counselling Expectations of a Sample of East Asian and Caucasian Canadian Undergraduates in Canada.
Cultural Competency: Working with European-American clients
What's in a face? Counseling trainees' ability to read emotions.
Insights Gained From a Cultural Contexts Counseling Course in a Rural Setting.
Cultural Competency: Working with South Asian clients
South Asians in College Counseling
Cultural Competency: Working with Middle Eastern clients
Competent Counseling for Middle Eastern American Clients: Implications for Trainees.
Resilience in sexual and gender minority forced migrants: A qualitative exploration.
Substance use among Palestinian youth in the West Bank, Palestine: a qualitative investigation
Cultural humility: Measuring openness to culturally diverse clients.
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM 5-TR Clinical Cases
- Access to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycARTICLES is distributed by different vendors; this version is from EBSCO
- APA PsycINFO is not the same as APA PsycARTICLES. Each has different content. JWU library does not subscribe to APA PsycINFO.
Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling and Psychology by ISBN: 9781452266800Publication Date: 2003-01-01Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling and Psychology is the first book to offer the theoretical background, practical knowledge, and training strategies needed to achieve multicultural competence. Focusing on a wide range of professional settings, editors Donald . Pope-Davis, Hardin L Coleman, William Ming Liu, and Rebecca L Toporek provide a compendium of the latest research related to multicultural competency and the hands-on framework to develop specialized multicultural practices. Promoting an appreciation of cultural differences, this innovative text includes }} a review of major measures of multicultural competency }} an analysis of popular empirically supported treatments within the schema of multicultural competency }} information on multicultural competencies and accreditation }} an overview of ethical implications }} teaching strategies to achieve multicultural competency Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling and Psychology provides a comprehensive foundation for understanding and integrating multiculturalism in all areas of professional practice. Offering directions for growth and development, the editors and a distinguished group of contributors explore emerging issues within the field. An indispensable resource for psychologists, social workers, school counselors, and teachers, this Handbook is also an ideal supplementary text for students in counselling and clinical practice courses.
Intersection of Race, Class, and Gender in Multicultural Counseling by ISBN: 9781452264196Publication Date: 2000-01-01Featuring an outstanding group of leading theorists and researchers from the fields of multicultural psychology and counselling, this book begins with chapters on how the interplay of such variables of class, gender, and race interact in the development of an individual in a pluralistic society. It then presents theories on how to integrate issues of class, gender and race into counselling theory.
Counseling the Culturally Diverse by ISBN: 9781119084303Publication Date: 2015-12-14The standard bearing guide for multicultural counseling courses now enhanced with research-based, topical, and pedagogical refinements Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Theory and Practice, 7th Edition is the new update to the seminal work on multicultural counseling. From author Derald Wing Sue, one of the most cited multicultural scholars in the United States, this comprehensive work includes current research, cultural and scientific theoretical formations, and expanded exploration of internalized racism. Replete with real-world examples, this book explains why conversations revolving around racial issues remain so difficult, and provides specific techniques and advice for leading forthright and productive discussions.
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go or reach out to me for help!
