Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for CLP Psych 2002/CJS 1090.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question.
We have an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Research example: Provide detailed information about an issue in the criminal justice system, focusing on a specific slant.
Strategy:
- Choose a specific slant to topic of the criminal justice system, such as the impact of mental health on police officers.
- Search Criminal Justice or Law Journals, using keywords such as "Police officer*" or "Law enforcement" AND "Mental health".
- Use the Articles tab from the library's home page and after entering your keywords, click Full Text.
- Make an appointment with a Research Librarian for help.
EX: Research Police Officers and Mental Health or Mental health and Incarceration.
- Use the Articles tab from the library's home page.
- Add keywords and then click Full Text and Peer Reviewed.
- Click on an article that interests you.
- Search for a Subject Term which is hyperlinked and leads to other articles on the same topic.
People can also be Subject Terms.
People: STINNEY, George Junius, 1929-1944
Click the links to the articles for each topic below, and then look at the Subject Terms - these are hyperlinked to MORE articles on your topic and are a great way to further refine your research question. Notice that even a state, a country, or a person could be a Subject Term.
An Examination of the Reasons Police Officers Fail to Seek Treatment for Occupational Stress
Ex: You're interested in researching the impact of mental health on policing, for officers themselves.
Subjects:
- POLICE
- LAW enforcement
- MENTAL health
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM 5-TR Clinical Cases
- Access to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycARTICLES is distributed by different vendors; this version is from EBSCO
- APA PsycINFO is not the same as APA PsycARTICLES. Each has different content. JWU library does not subscribe to APA PsycINFO.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources
- Many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Great for an in-depth look into your topic
- Borrow ebooks for up to 21 days
- Download chapters to any device
- Limited printing options
To find resources on mental health issues in in the library catalog, click the keywords below. If you want to search another mental health issue, click on ANY of the links below, and then replace the keyword with your own, OR reach out to me or another librarian for help. Good luck!
Gender Dysphoria (***2013 update with DSM V: The diagnostic label gender identity disorder (GID) was used by the DSM until its reclassification as gender dysphoria in 2013, with the release of the DSM-5. The diagnosis was reclassified to better align it with medical understanding of the condition and to remove the stigma associated with the term disorder.[5][6] The American Psychiatric Association, publisher of the DSM-5, stated that gender nonconformity is not the same thing as gender dysphoria,[7] and that "gender nonconformity is not in itself a mental disorder. The critical element of gender dysphoria is the presence of clinically significant distress associated with the condition."[1] Some transgender people and researchers support declassification of the condition because they say the diagnosis pathologizes gender variance and reinforces the binary model of gender.[5][8]
On campus? Visit the Center for Academic Support at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer or professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
For in-person tutoring and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Center for Academic Success:
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by visiting the website online
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academic tab.
Off campus or just relaxing in your room? You can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours! It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academic tab, under Tutoring.
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with a writing coach through uSucceed at the Center for Academic Success.
