CJS2050 Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for CJS2050.
Stressing out over the textbook? No worries! Check with us to see if we have yours on reserve.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at the Center for Academic Success at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open Mon - Wed 9 am - 9 pm. Thurs - Fri 9-4.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1309
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academics tab, then USucceed.
Off campus or relaxing in your room? You can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours! It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
Research Paper Provide detailed information about a particular serial killer.
Strategy:
- Choose a specific serial killer, such as Aileen Wuornos.
- Search Criminal Justice Journals, using keywords such as "Serial Killer" or "Aileen Wuornos" or "Mass Murderer" or "Female" AND "Serial Killer"
- Use the Articles tab from the library's home page and click Full Text
- Make an appointment with a Research Librarian for help
EX: Research Aileen Wuornos and female serial killers.
Use the Articles tab from the library's home page and click Full Text, and Peer Reviewed/Scholarly.
Use KW and then click Full Text and Peer Reviewed. Click on an article that interests you. Search for a Subject Term which is hyperlinked and leads to other articles on the same topic. People can also be Subject Terms, such as:
- People:
- Wuornos, Aileen, 1956-2002
Pearson, Kyra. "The Trouble with Aileen Wuornos, Feminism's "First Serial Killer." Communication & Critical/Cultural Studies, vol. 4, no. 3, Sept. 2007, pp. 256-275. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/14791420701472791.
Search in Sage Database using the same keywords to find articles such as:
Farrell, Amanda L., et al. “Lethal Ladies.” Homicide Studies, vol. 15, no. 3, 2011, pp. 228–252., doi:10.1177/1088767911415938.
Criminal Justice Journals
Homicide Studies (Academic, Peer Reviewed Journal)
Crime & Criminal Justice International (Academic, Peer Reviewed Journal)
J Journal: New Writings on Criminal Justice (Examines criminal justice through creative writing, short stories, poems, personal narratives by those involved including law enforcement professionals, lawyers, professors and prison inmates.)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Many full text articles focused on the criminal justice system including mass incarceration, decriminalization, criminal justice reform, criminal law & procedure, corrections & prisons, police & policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, history of crime, substance abuse & addiction, probation & parole
- Check the "Linked Full Text" button to retrieve only full-text content
If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL for Chicago, MLA, or APA! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor via Academics tab in JWUlink (click uSucceed) or submit your paper to Smarthinking (both in JWULInk, Academics) to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
