HOSP1001
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for HOSP1001.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
If you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below or look for it on our homepage.
Section II: Careers (Due Week 4) (40 points)
This section should be approximately 3 pages in length and should be written in an essay format.
- Provide an introduction to the section.
- From the list provided by Professor Kosky, (see below) choose and research 3 possible hospitality job positions on the management level that you feel will be needed to achieve your career goal or that you might be interested in. Write at least one well-developed paragraph on each position in which you will
- Identify each job position
- Describe its main responsibility or function
- Discuss its common job specifications or qualifications, such as certifications, skills, and/or job experience.
- Using the JWU Link (Jobs and Internships tab), research an internship opportunity that interests you. You may also use another website for this research.
- Choose a company that most matches your goals
- It can be a summer posting or one offered during the academic year
- Using the research you have compiled, describe where the opportunity is, what you would do in this internship & why you would be best for this opportunity. Help me understand what it is like and why you fit. This should NOT just be a normal job posting.
- Conclude this section by discussing how all these opportunities would fit into your career plan. Describe the possible career path.
- Provide a Works Cited page.
Hospitality Job Positions (Prof. Kosky's List)
1. General Manager 2. Hotel Executive Assistant Manager 3. Hotel Operations Manager 4. Rooms Division Manager 5. Front Office Manager 6. Reservations Manager 7. Executive Housekeeper 8. Director of Marketing 9. Hotel Sales Manager 10. Hotel Catering Manager 11. Convention Services Manager 12. Concierge 13. Human Resources Director of Manager 14. Controller (Accounting Manager) 15. Food & Beverage Director 16. Banquet Manager 17. Executive Chef 18. Cruise Director 19. Facilities Manager 20. Event Planner 21. Tourism Director 22. Casino Manager 23. Revenue Manager 24. Restaurant Manager 25. Beverage Manager 26. Hotel Purchasing Director 27. Golf Course Manager. 28 Purser. 29. Meeting Planner. 30. Tour Operator. 31. Convention & Visitors Bureau Director (CVB) 32. Country Club Manager 33. Amusement or Theme Park Manager 34. Night Club Manager.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- Topics include: industry trends, new products or techniques, and association news
- Contains job ads
- Authors are specialists in a certain field or industry
- Intended audience includes people in the industry or people seeking employment in the industry
- Articles give practical information to people in an industry
- Authors use jargon of the industry
- Also known as a "professional magazine"
How do I find Trade Journals?
When searching in the catalog, or in databases, on the left hand side, look for Trade Journals
Make sure "Peer Reviewed/Scholarly" journals are NOT clicked.
If you get stuck, ask a librarian for help!
Section III: Company Research (Due Week 6) (40 points)
- Conduct some basic company research of some organizations that would be possible targets for your career. You will research 3 different companies. For each company you need to use more than one source and you must use Trade Journals (industry magazines) as a source (a minimum of 3 times in the section).
- Introduce the section first.
- Discuss the following for each company:
- Something about the company culture, mission, philosophy, or background that stands out to you.
- Size of company, Brands, Service style, Locations
- Special training or management programs or other unique benefits.
- What the pros a cons are of working for this company.
- Write up will be done for all 3 companies, each in a separate paragraph.
- Provide a conclusion at the end of the section.
- Provide a Works Cited page.
- After this section is turned in, please be prepared to possibly share information about one of your companies during class time.
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- Case studies, company profiles & industry research reports
- Country economic reports, market research reports
- SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives, and selective full-text articles
- Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- WSJ is the world's leading financial newspaper
- Selective full-text articles from 1984 to the present
- Images not included
-
A report that public companies are required to file annually. Included in an annual report is information about a company's assets, liabilities, earnings, and profit or loss.
Section III: Company Research (Due Week 6) (40 points)
- Conduct some basic company research of some organizations that would be possible targets for your career. You will research 3 different companies. For each company you need to use more than one source and you must use Trade Journals (industry magazines) as a source (a minimum of 3 times in the section).
- Introduce the section first.
- Discuss the following for each company:
- Something about the company culture, mission, philosophy, or background that stands out to you.
- Visit the company's website, and conduct company research through their website, including social media presence, "About us", Brands and other sections of their site.
- Size of company, Brands, Service style, Locations
- Visit the company's website, and conduct company research through their website, social media presence, as well as database research.
- Special training or management programs or other unique benefits.
- Visit the company's website, and conduct company research through their website, social media presence, etc.
- What the pros a cons are of working for this company.
- Something about the company culture, mission, philosophy, or background that stands out to you.
- Write up will be done for all 3 companies, each in a separate paragraph.
- Provide a conclusion at the end of the section.
- Provide a Works Cited page.
- After this section is turned in, please be prepared to possibly share information about one of your companies during class time.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
Use the Purdue OWL to learn more about MLA style. If you have any questions or are unsure about in-text citations, your Works Cited page, or formatting in general, I attached some documents below that may help. Or, ask a librarian for help! You can also email me, jennifer.castel@jwu.edu.
