SEE 3010
Welcome. We are so happy to serve as your library liaisons!
Think of us as your research partners...We can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it! Visit our homepage to learn more.
If you ever want to meet with us for specialized research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment.
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Sports and sports medicine research including nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology
- In addition to journals and ebooks, the database includes references to thousands of dissertations and theses
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
There are a few ways to limit your Google search to make your results more effective. Of course, a Google Scholar search will bring you lots of academic results, and it is a great place to start. The problem is that accessing the full text of those resources may require a subscription - if you run into this problem, please email me so I can help you locate the article in our subscriptions.
Here are some tips for making your Google search a better one
1. Domain limiting
If you don't know the difference between .org, .edu., .com, .gov, read this first.
Google allows you to limit your results to those articles appearing only on websites with certain domains. For example, to return results only from government sites, you would type your search string followed by "site: .gov"
In fact, you can search any website using this technique - just enter the entire address after "site:"
2. Explicit phrase
If you are searching for content about say, a sporting event, consider that this is actually a phrase (consisting of more than one word), and search for it explicitly using quotation marks. As in "sporting event."
3. Related search
If you find a website that has really great content, and you want to find something else that is similar, perform a related search by typing - related: yourwonderfulwebsite.com
The JWU library offers the following guide:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
Welcome to JWU Online!
As an online student, the library has many resources tailored just for you.
In addition to online databases, e-books, and scholarly journals, as online students, you also have your very own Writing Specialist.
To take advantage of this extremely useful resource, simply visit JWU Online Writing Support online and make an appointment to check out all the ways personal writing support can make a difference in your educational success!
Need research help? Reach out to a librarian for fast and easy support.
Take a peek at the video below for the Top 5 Tips on how the JWU Online Library can help you!
