CLP
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Visit the homepage to learn more.
Need more help? Meet with a librarian via a research appointment.
For anonymous help, Chat with a librarian Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page.
Collaborative Learning Assignment Spring 2025
Supporting police officer/law enforcement mental health from a trauma-informed approach.
Please be sure to use APA format. Use at least three different scholarly resources aside from course materials. Let
Let's get started!
Visit the library's homepage and click the Articles tab
Step 1: Keyword Searching
For example, if your topic includes identifying steps that police departments can take to adopt a trauma-informed approach to mental health and create a culture of care:
- Use keywords from your research question such as "culture of care" and "police" or "training" and "trauma-informed"
- Click Full Text
- Browse the first page of results, choose the article you feel the most relevant
- Email the article to yourself, or create a Google Doc and save the permalink and APA citation, using the "Cite" feature
Step 2: Research Resilience or using alternative Keywords
For example, consider discussing ways police officers can positively manage high-stress interactions
- Use keywords such as "stress management" and "police" or "mental health" and "PTSD" or "Trauma-Informed" and "coping skills" or "resilience".
- Click Full Text
- Browse the first page of results, choose the article you feel the most relevant
- Email the article to yourself, or create a Google Doc and save the permalink and APA citation, using the "Cite" feature
Step 3: Subject Terms
- Using the previous example, click on one of the articles focused on how police officers can positively manage high-stress interactions.
- Review the Subject Terms inside the article record
- These are hyperlinked to more articles on your topic, and can help narrow your search.
The JWU Writing Lab is open for online appointments.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, click Academics tab, Academic Support Services.
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to tutor.com. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Many full text articles focused on the criminal justice system including mass incarceration, decriminalization, criminal justice reform, criminal law & procedure, corrections & prisons, police & policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, history of crime, substance abuse & addiction, probation & parole
- Check the "Linked Full Text" button to retrieve only full-text content
If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- APA PsycARTICLES is distributed by different vendors; this version is from EBSCO
- APA PsycINFO is not the same as APA PsycARTICLES. Each has different content. JWU library does not subscribe to APA PsycINFO.
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window
- Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- DSM 5-TR Clinical Cases
- Access to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
