Not all databases are equal - some are great for finding mindmaps on your topics, and others are perfect for finding statistics or peer reviewed, scholarly articles.  Each team is going to explore one database, enter keywords, look for an article, look for the citation, and if you can, email yourself that article.  We'll share out what we find at the end.

On your handout, you've been assigned a Team # and a database.  Look for your Team # below, and then follow the directions below to explore.  Fill out the handout you've been given, to help you prep for your share-out/presentation to the class. 

Your goal is to find an article for each member of your team and either email it to yourself or save it to your OneDrive.

Step-by Step:

1. Team 1: Head over to Articles tab on the library's home page.  Click Articles (Not Everything) and Enter your Keywords, click Full Text, click Email to send your article to yourself, and then click Citation Format, and choose MLA to include the citation in the email. 
2. Team 2: Explore CQ Researcher - enter in your keywords in the search bar, choose a report, and look for Email and Cite Now!​ Explore the Chronology on the left hand side (once you click a title). Email yourself an article or download an article.
3. Team 3: Explore Statista - enter in keywords, and explore statistics and reports.  Look for the Citation (faq) and see if you can find a statistic on your topic!  Can you download the pdf?  Can you find the citation? Email yourself an article or download an article.
4. Team 4:  Explore Credo:  enter in keywords, on the left, look for Mindmaps, Subject Terms, and Dates. Scroll to the bottom of the page to find the Citation. Email yourself an article or download an article.
5. Team 5: Head over to Opposing Viewpoints - Enter your Keywords and see what you find!
   1. Notice the variety of DIFFERENT kinds of resources: Academic Journals, Primary Sources, Magazines, Newspapers,Statistics
   2. Look for the "Cite" button on the upper right or the "send to" icon to send the article OR
   3. Look for the Google Drive or OneDrive icon once you click a title to save the article or use the email icon to email it to yourself.
6. Come to the front of the class with your team and give a quick "demo" on the pros and cons of your assigned database.
7. Your ticket out? Click below to take a quick quiz: 

    Information Literacy Module, click here.

   ABCD Handout

Padlet

Scenario: You have to write a short paper for a media communications class on the topic of how gender and race impact media representation.

Using the ABCD criteria on your handout, work with your team to score the source you are assigned.

Is your source credible?

Pro-Tip: Each team evaluates ONE of the following sources:

Source 1

Source 2

Source 3

Source 4

Source 5

Source 6

To take the Information Literacy Module, click here.

ABCD Handout

On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Academic Success Center at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments.

Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. 

For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Academic Success Center, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.

Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:

1.    Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
2.    Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1785  
3.    Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, click Academics tab.

Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for feedback by professional tutors within 24 hours?  It's FREE!  Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.

Looking for MS Office Suite or Microsoft Word?  Click here to download it for free!

Wondering how to get started on your research paper?  No worries!  Your first challenge is to choose an interesting topic, and then focus in on the most fascinating angle.

Pro-Tip: Start with Academic Search Complete

Use Academic Search to search for articles on specific angles for your Cause & Effect research paper. For example, if your topic is "Texting while Driving", use the search box to find popular or scholarly articles on "Texting while Driving", along with your angle, such as a "Texting Ban" or the role of "alcohol".

• Enter in your basic search terms, such as "Texting while Driving"
• Limit to Full Text, so you can read articles online
• Check News, Magazines or Scholarly/Peer Reviewed for academic articles
• Scroll down the first page of articles, and click on the most interesting one
• Click on one of the Subject Terms (they're hyperlinked) and see where it takes you!

Use Opposing Viewpoints to search for controversial articles on specific angles for your research paper. For example, if your topic is "Environmental Impact of Tourism", use the search box to find different points of view on Eco-Tourism.  Looking at both sides of a topic makes whatever side you take even stronger, because you can argue a more balanced point of view.

Pro-Tip: Choose Browse Issues to choose from legit hundreds of topics.​

Looking for credible statistics? Use Statista for fast, compelling statistics to cite in your paper.  Statistics on 60,000 topics in just a click of a button!

Looking for research?  We can help!

Academic Search Complete

This is a great place to start:  

• Scholarly/ Peer Reviewed articles
• Trade Publications
• Magazines and News articles 
• Company Information 
• Statistics

Pro-Tip: Click Full Text on the left hand side so you can read everything online right away, and look for the Cite button on the right hand side to copy and paste citations (and save a ton of time!)  

CQ Researcher

Reporting & analysis of issues in the news

Opposing Viewpoints

Need research on controversial topics?  This database is your friend.  Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.

Pro-Tip: Choose Browse Issues to choose from legit hundreds of topics.

.

Statista

Looking for statistics to quote, FAST?  Check out this awesome database!  Just toss in your search term, and you're good to go. 

Using Google can be really helpful when you're doing research, especially if you use these quick tips!

1. Change the "Domain"​

• Looking for Government information?  Use .gov in your search
  • If you search "Statistics on the economy" site:gov, you'll find government sites focusing on the economy, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

• Looking for Education resources?  Use .edu in your search
  • If you search "statistics on the economy" site:edu, you'll find academic sites focusing on the economy, such as articles from colleges and universities.
• Looking for Non-Profit research?  Use .org in your search
  • If you search "statistics on the economy" site:org, you'll find non-profit sites focusing on the economy, such as the United Nations Statistics division.

​2. Put your search in "Quotes"

• If you're searching for more than one word, use quotes to search as a phrase.
  • ​EX:  "Student Loans"

3. Google Scholar

• A Google Scholar search will bring you lots of academic results, and it is a great place to start.  
  • If you can't read the articles online, let us know and we'll find the Full Text for you!

Welcome to JWU Online!

As an online student, the library has many resources tailored just for you.

In addition to online databases, e-books, and scholarly journals, as online students, you also have your very own Writing Specialist.

To take advantage of this extremely useful resource, simply visit JWU College of Online Education Student Writing Support online and make an appointment to check out all the ways personal writing support can make a difference in your educational success!

Need research help?  Reach out to a librarian for fast and easy support.

Take a peek at the video below for the Top 5 Tips on how the JWU Online Library can help you!

Exploring Online Library Resources

Worried about MLA?  Don't be!  Here's a link to a Sample Paper in MLA that will help walk you through.

Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?

1. Save time -  look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.

2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)

3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper

Ta Da!  You're done!  Well, almost.  Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.

Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations?  Use the OWL!  It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.

Citing Images 

Image label (If including image in your written work):

Fig. 1 New York Sunshine. (WGSN Denim Team, [Sept. 2018]).

In the text:

WGSN Denim Team [Sept. 2018].

In your list of figures or references (omit figure number if you haven't included the image in your assignment)

Figure 1. WGSN Denim Team. [Sept. 2018] New York Sunshine. WGSN. Denim Forecast S/S 20: Empower Up! [Online image]. available from https://www-wgsn-com.jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/content/board_viewer/#/80499/page/1

Working on your Annotated Bibliography?  We can help!

Here is an AMAZING example that walks you through the entire process - just click to read.

An annotation is super simple - basically, it's a few sentences about the kind of source you're using.  Our friends at the OWL have some awesome, detailed tips!

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

1. Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.

   For more help, see our handout on paraphrasing sources.

2. Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?

   For more help, see our handouts on evaluating resources.

3. Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?

Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. If you're doing this for a class, you should get specific guidelines from your instructor.

Welcome to First-Year Reads! 

We are incredibly honored to feature NPR's highly acclaimed series, This I Believe as our First Year Reads. 

This year, first year students will also have the chance to enter the This I Believe contest!

To enter the university-wide contest, please let your professor know by Tues, Sept 24th so your piece may be considered.

Three winners will read their essay on the evening of Friday, Oct 18th, during the JWU Homecoming & Family Weekend kick-off event. 

Writing is about courage - the courage to be vulnerable and let your audience experience something meaningful to you. 

Be brave. Your words are more powerful than you know.  

Explore This I Believe selections for JWU First Year Reads:

This I Believe: Trans-cendent

The Choice to Do It Over Again

The Power of Hello

Black is Beautiful

Our Lives Are Ephemeral

The Magic of Letters

Seeing Beyond Our Differences

America's Beauty Is In Our Diversity

Life Is An Act of Literary Creation

Creating Our Own Happiness

Failure Is A Good Thing

A Journey Toward Acceptance and Love

Culture: A Beautiful Thing

The following Peer Reviewed, Scholarly articles explore themes addressed in the This I Believe selections.  For more information, contact Sarah Naomi Campbell, librarian at Downcity at scampbell@jwu.edu or via our Ask a Librarian chat service on the library's homepage.

This I Believe: Trans-cendent  Keywords Transgender Identity, Transgender College Students, LGBTQI

Swanbrow Becker, Martin A., et al. “Supporting Transgender College Students: Implications for Clinical Intervention and Campus Prevention.” Journal of College Student Psychotherapy, vol. 31, no. 2, Apr. 2017, pp. 155–176. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/87568225.2016.1253441.

The Choice to Do it All Over Again Keywords: First Generation College, Community College, Resilience, Student-Parents

Carter, Barbara. “Impact of a Student-Scheduled Child Care Program on Parents’ Educational Goals.” Administrative Issues Journal: Connecting Education, Practice, and Research, vol. 6, no. 2, Jan. 2016, pp. 13–29. EBSCOhost.

The Power of Hello  Keywords: Greeting Behavior, Non-Verbal Communication, Positive Psychology

 Katsumi, Yuta, et al. “When Nonverbal Greetings ‘Make It or Break It’: The Role of Ethnicity and Gender in the Effect of Handshake on Social Appraisals.” Journal of Nonverbal Behavior, vol. 41, no. 4, Dec. 2017, pp. 345–365. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1007/s10919-017-0257-0.

Black is Beautiful Keywords: Race, Identity, Surname, Discrimination, Muslim, African American, Black

Feldman, Michelle E., and Allyson J. Weseley. “Which Name Unlocks the Door? The Effect of Tenant Race/Ethnicity on Landlord Response.” Journal of Applied Social Psychology, vol. 43, June 2013, pp. E416–E425. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1111/jasp.12034.

Galarza, Francisco B., and Gustavo Yamada. “Triple Penalty in Employment Access: The Role of Beauty, Race, and Sex.” Journal of Applied Economics, vol. 20, no. 1, May 2017, pp. 29–47. EBSCOhost.

Our Lives Are Ephemeral Keywords: Race, Identity, Surname, Discrimination, Islam, African American, Black

The Magic of Letters  Keywords: Adult Literacy, Adult Learners, Resilience

Severinsen, Debbie J., et al. “Teaching Strategies That Motivate English Language Adult Literacy Learners to Invest in Their Education: A Literature Review.” Literacy & Numeracy Studies, vol. 26, no. 1, Jan. 2018, pp. 25–42. EBSCOhost, doi:10.5130/lns.v26i1.6260.

Seeing Beyond Our Differences Keywords: Race-relations, Identity, Loving v. Virginia, Interracial Marriage

Canlas, Jerevie M., et al. “Same-Race and Interracial Asian-White Couples: Relational and Social Contexts and Relationship Outcomes.” Journal of Comparative Family Studies, vol. 46, no. 3, Summer 2015, pp. 307–328. EBSCOhost, doi:10.3138/jcfs.46.3.307.

America's Beauty Is In Our Diversity Keywords Muslim Identity, Hijab, Identity Negotiation, Social Identity Construction

Simorangkir, Deborah N., and Sigit Pamungkas. “Social Identity Construction and Negotiation among Hijab-Wearing Indonesian University Students.” Journal of Communication & Religion, vol. 41, no. 3, Fall 2018, pp. 14–31. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ehh&AN=132829778&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Life Is An Act of Literary Creation Keywords Poetry, Writing -- Identity, Writing - Social Aspects

Molloy, Cathryn. “Multimodal Composing as Healing: Toward a New Model for Writing as Healing Courses.” Composition Studies, vol. 44, no. 2, Fall 2016, pp. 134–152. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=119550909&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Creating Our Own Happiness Keywords affect dynamics, momentary mindfulness, mindfulness training, happiness

Rowland, Zarah, et al. “A Mind Full of Happiness: How Mindfulness Shapes Affect Dynamics in Daily Life.” Emotion, Dec. 2018. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1037/emo0000562.supp (Supplemental).

Failure Is A Good Thing  Keywords Failure, Resilience (Psychology), Experiential Learning

Jing, Tang, et al. “Study of Impact on Undergraduates’ Entrepreneurial Failure Based on the Model of Psychological Resilience-Knowledge Acquisition.” English Language Teaching, vol. 9, no. 8, Jan. 2016, pp. 224–230. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1106627&site=ehost-live&scope=site

A Journey Toward Acceptance and Love Keywords: Homophobia, Gay Men, Coming Out, LGBTQ, Religion, Christianity

McCormick, Adam, and Stephen Baldridge. “Family Acceptance and Faith: Understanding the Acceptance Processes of Parents of LGBTQ Youth.” Social Work & Christianity, vol. 46, no. 1, Spring 2019, pp. 32–40. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=134549190&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Culture: A Beautiful Thing Keywords: Puerto Rican Identity, Mexican Identity, Culture, Dual Identity

Nunez, Anne-Marie, and Gloria Crisp. “Ethnic Diversity and Latino/a College Access: A Comparison of Mexican American and Puerto Rican Beginning College Students.” Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, vol. 5, no. 2, June 2012, pp. 78–95. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ988973&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Did you know that the Providence Public Library is AMAZING and only two blocks away from Downcity?  They have thousands of books, films, audio books, music, and special collections that will terrify and intrigue.  Seriously.  It's awesome and totally 100% free!

Check it out at Providence Public Library

You can learn all about how to get your own super sweet Providence Public Library card here