Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for GDES 1020.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
Looking for textbooks on design? No worries! We have Graphic Design Basics, 6th Edition on reserve at the Downcity library and Meggs’ History of Graphic Design both in print and ebook.
Graphic Design Visionaries is another great place to get started.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Explore research using this Google Doc
Click below to explore Full Text resources in the catalog on the following art movements.
Art Nouveau, Art Deco, Bahaus, Constructivism, Minimalism, and Pop Art.
Journals
Articles about the criticism, history and theory as they relate to the professions of design.
Print portfolios, profiles, regional design, thematic issues, computer advances, historical perspective and provocative articles in all areas of the field.
Journal of Graphic Engineering & Design
Provides novelty researches and papers in the field of graphic engineering, material and measurement science, design, typography and visual media communication.
Articles
Back to the Drawing Board: Graphic Design and the Visual Environment of Television at Midcentury
The Top 20 20th Century Topographers
Business Needs Good Design: And good design requires professionals.
The Typography Idea Book by ISBN: 9781780678498Publication Date: 2016-08-23This book serves as an introduction to the key elements of good typographic design. Broken into sections covering the fundamentals of typography, the book features inspiring works by acclaimed typographic designers from across the world. Each section illustrates technical points and encourages readers to try out new ideas of their own. The subjects covered include typographic rebus, abstract form, overlapping, using grids, metaphoric construction and illumination. The result is an instantly accessible, jargon-free guide to typographic design using professional techniques.
Typography Essentials by ISBN: 9781592535231Publication Date: 2009-07-01A deep understanding of letterforms and knowledge of their effective use can only be obtained with constant observation and experimentation; it evolves over a lifetime of design practice and study. This comprehensive guide is intended to advance the progress of designers seeking to deepen their typographic expertise. Typography Essentials is a practical, hands-on resource to distill, organize, and compartmentalize--but not to oversimplify--the many complex issues surrounding the effective use of typography. It is for designers of every medium in which type plays a major role, and is organized and designed to make the process enjoyable and entertaining, as well as instructional. This book is divided into four easy-to-use sections: The Letter, The Word, The Paragraph, and The Page. Each of the 100 principles has an explanation and examples representing the principle in action.
Typography, Referenced by ISBN: 9781592537020Publication Date: 2012-02-01Typography, Referenced was named to the 2013 Outstanding Reference Sources List, an annual handpicked list from the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA, a division of the American Library Association) of the most noteworthy reference titles published in 2012. Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today. In these pages, you'll find: --Thousands of illustrated examples of contemporary usage in design --Historical developments from Greek lapidary letters to the movie Helvetica --Landmark designs turning single letters into typefaces --Definitions of essential type-specific language, terms, ideas, principles, and processes --Ways technology has influenced and advanced type --The future of type on the web, mobile devices, tablets, and beyond In short, Typography, Referenced is the ultimate source of typographic information and inspiration, documenting and chronicling the full scope of essential typographic knowledge and design from the beginnings of moveable type to the present "golden age" of typography.
Instant HTML5 Fonts and Typography by ISBN: 9781849697866Publication Date: 2013-08-26Filled with practical, step-by-step instructions and clear explanations for the most important and useful tasks. Written as practical recipes, Instant HTML5 Fonts and Typography How-to will enable you to use custom fonts with outstanding effects.This book is great for both professional and amateur HTML and CSS developers who are looking to use fonts in order to enhance interface design. Familiarity with JavaScript is assumed.
The Graphic Design Reference and Specification Book by ISBN: 9781592538515Publication Date: 2013-09-01The Graphic Design Reference & Specification Book should always be next to a designer's computer. Completely practical with only the most needed information, this valuable book provides designers with all the little details that can make or break a design, such as how much space to leave in the gutter when designing barrel folds, how to layout a template for a box, and the ratios of each part, as well as metric conversion charts, standard envelope sizes in the USA, Europe, Canada and Asia, and much more. This hardworking handbook is compact and accessible and is a must-have for any graphic designer.
The Language of Graphic Design by ISBN: 9781592536764Publication Date: 2011-04-01For anyone trying to communicate in a new language, one has to first gain a complete understanding of its fundamentals; the ABC's of that language--definitions, functions, and usage. The Language of Graphic Design provides graphic design students and practitioners with an in-depth understanding of the fundamental elements and principles of their language--graphic design--what they are, why they are important, and how to use them effectively.
Graphic Design and Architecture, a 20th Century History by ISBN: 9781610586337Publication Date: 2012-11-01Graphic Design and Architecture, A 20th Century History closely examines the relationship between typography, image, symbolism, and the built environment by exploring principal themes, major technological developments, important manufacturers, and pioneering designers over the last 100 years.
Drawing for Graphic Design by ISBN: 9781592537815Publication Date: 2012-07-01Here is a complete, comprehensive drawing reference for design students and professionals alike who want to implement drawing as a professional tool.- The Typography Idea Book by ISBN: 9781780678498Publication Date: 2016-08-23This book serves as an introduction to the key elements of good typographic design. Broken into sections covering the fundamentals of typography, the book features inspiring works by acclaimed typographic designers from across the world. Each section illustrates technical points and encourages readers to try out new ideas of their own.
Creating a Brand Identity by ISBN: 9781780675626Publication Date: 2016-01-26Creating A Brand Identity is a complex challenge for the graphic designer. It requires practical design skills and creative drive as well as an understanding of marketing and consumer behaviour. This practical handbook is a comprehensive introduction to this creative process. Exercises and examples highlight the key activities undertaken by designers to create a successful brand identity, including defining the audience, analyzing competitors, creating mood boards, naming brands, designing logos, presenting to clients and launching the new identity. Case studies throughout the book are illustrated with brand identities from around the world, including a diverse range of industries such as digital media, fashion, advertising, product design, packaging, retail and more. Filled with tips and tricks on research, design and testing, this is essential reading for students, graduates and working designers exploring this area for the first time.
Exhibition Design by ISBN: 9781780676067Publication Date: 2015-09-08Exhibition Design 2 describes the skills needed to become an exhibition designer, including: developing a brief and working with clients; design principles for graphics, circulation, lighting, and accessibility; presenting ideas to clients; and the practicalities of production.
Art Chantry Speaks by ISBN: 9781627310093Publication Date: 2015-07-14'There used to be a time when designers were trained in the history of composition. Now you just buy a f*ckin' piece of software and now you've become a designer.'
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
- Enhance your skills in business, technology, and creativity with expert-led video tutorials
- Create custom playlists and assign to students or colleagues
- How to use LinkedIn Learning
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
- In-text Citations: (Author's last name and the page number). Period after the in-text citation.
- Example: “There is a significant relationship between good design and the creative thought process” (Munoz 161).
- Need more help? Click here!
- General paper format:
- Times New Roman
- 1-inch margins
- double spaced
- indent each new paragraph
- Need more help? Click here!
- Works Cited page:
- last page
- double spaced
- citations listed in alphabetical order
- hanging indents
- appropriate citation format for each source type (i.e. book vs. article)
- Need more help? Click here!
- How to Cite an Interview!
Citing Images
Image label (If including image in your written work):
Fig. 1 New York Sunshine. (WGSN Denim Team, [Sept. 2018]).
In the text:
WGSN Denim Team [Sept. 2018].
In your list of figures or references (omit figure number if you haven't included the image in your assignment)
Figure 1. WGSN Denim Team. [Sept. 2018] New York Sunshine. WGSN. Denim Forecast S/S 20: Empower Up! [Online image]. available from https://www-wgsn-com.jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/content/board_viewer/#/80499/page/1
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is perfect and all your citations are good to go.
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Yena Center at Downcity or Friedman Center at Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer and professional writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open 9 am - 9 pm.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1309
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academic tab.
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academic tab, under Tutoring.
