CSJ2150 Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for CJS2150
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Center for Academic Success at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Success, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open Mon - Wed 9 am - 9 pm Thurs - Fri 9 am - 4 pm. Closed Sat. Open Sun at Harborside.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1309
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academic tab.
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academic tab, under Tutoring.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Many full text articles focused on the criminal justice system including mass incarceration, decriminalization, criminal justice reform, criminal law & procedure, corrections & prisons, police & policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, history of crime, substance abuse & addiction, probation & parole
- Check the "Linked Full Text" button to retrieve only full-text content
If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles from 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR
- Content covers fields such as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
Click the links to the articles for each topic below, and then look at the Subject Terms - these are hyperlinked to MORE articles on your topic and are a great way to further refine your research question. Notice that even a state, a country, or a person could be a Subject Term!
Ex:
*RACE discrimination -- United States
*LEGAL status of African Americans
*AFRICAN American criminals
*SEGREGATION of African Americans
*PRACTICE of law
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go or reach out to me for help!
