Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for your ESL course.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either the Center for Academic Support at Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, peer-to-peer writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support, via USucceed in jwulink, Academics tab.
Top Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open 9 am - 9 pm.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1309
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: in jwulink, click Academic tab.
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in jwulink, under the Academic tab, under Tutoring.
Looking for research on gun control? We can help!
Use Keywords such as "Gun Control" or "Student Activism" to get started. Click Full Text on the left hand side, and when you find an article that seems interesting, check out the Subject Terms. These are hyperlinked to other articles on your topic and it's a super fast, easy way to narrow down your topic.
Stuck? Choose Subject Thesaurus on the left hand side to browse different keywords on your topic, to get started.
Pro-Tip: People, such as the Student Activist GONZALEZ, Emma, Places such as FLORIDA, and Current Events such as *DOUGLAS High School Massacre, Parkland, Fla., 2018 can also be Subject Terms.
EX:
- Subjects:
- Gun control--United States
Firearms ownership--United States
Firearms--Law and legislation--United States - *TEENAGERS
*DOUGLAS High School Massacre, Parkland, Fla., 2018
POLITICAL activity
UNITED States
NATIONAL Rifle Association of America -- Political activity - People:
- GONZALEZ, Emma
HOGG, David - GUN control -- United States -- Law & legislation
POLITICAL participation
ACTIVISTS -- United States
RESCIGNO, Carol
SCHOOL violence - *Sandy Hook Elementary School Massacre, Newtown, Conn., 2012
Gun control
Mass shootings
Collective memory
Shootings (Crime)
Murder victims - ORLANDO Nightclub Massacre, Orlando, Fla., 2016
MASS shootings -- Florida
VIOLENCE against LGBT people
HOMOPHOBIA
ISLAMOPHOBIA
GUN control -- United States
UNITED States presidential election, 2016
This is a great place to start:
- Scholarly/ Peer Reviewed articles
- Trade Publications
- Magazines and News articles
- Company Information
- Statistics
Pro-Tip: Click Full Text on the left hand side so you can read everything online right away, and look for the Cite button on the right hand side to copy and paste citations (and save a ton of time!)
Reporting & analysis of issues in the news
Need research on controversial topics? This database is your friend. Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.
Pro-Tip: Choose Browse Issues to choose from legit hundreds of topics.
Looking for statistics to quote, FAST? Check out this awesome database! Just toss in your search term, and you're good to go.
English Grammar for ESL Learners by ISBN: 9780071441322Publication Date: 2004-12-07Continuing the success of the bestselling Practice Makes Perfect series,Practice Makes Perfect English Grammar for ESL Learnersfeatures well-organized presentations, skill-building exercises, and a focus on practical conversational skills. Here you will find clear explanations accompanied by highlighted examples and boxed summaries of key points. You also get numerous exercises in a variety of formats, including fill-inthe-blank sentences and passages, translations, multiple-choice questions, sentence rewriting, and creative writing exercises. Answers to all questions are provided in the back of the book.
Understanding English Grammar by ISBN: 9789888053018Publication Date: 2005-01-01The book is designed for students' learning on their own as well as in a classroom. Each chapter is accompanied by a separate 'students' notes', which the students can consult after working through all the data and exercises in each chapter, to check their own answers and to read further explanations on the grammatical points in question.
English Linguistics by ISBN: 9783110215489Publication Date: 2010-06-17The book introduces the reader to the central areas of English linguistics. The main sections are: the English language and linguistics - sounds - meaning-carrying units - sentences: models of grammar - meaning - utterances - variation. Notably, the book is written from a foreign student's perspective of the English language, i.e. aspects relevant to foreign language teaching receive particular attention. A great deal of emphasis is put on the insights to be gained from the analysis of corpora, especially with respect to the idiomatic character of language (idiom principle, valency approach). In addition, the text offers basic facts about the history of the language and elaborates on the differences between British and American English. The author demonstrates that a linguistic fact can usually be described in more than one way. To this end, each section contains a chapter written for beginners providing a broad outline and introducing the basic terminology. The remaining chapters in each section highlight linguistic facts in more detail and give an idea of how particular theories account for them. The book can be used both from the first semester onwards and as perfect study aid for final B.A.-examinations.
Writing and Motivation by ISBN: 9780080466132Publication Date: 2006-01-01The aim of this volume is to bring together contributions from international research on writing and motivation. It not only addresses the basic question of how motivation to write can be fostered, but also provides analyses of conceptual and theoretical issues at the intersection of the topics of motivation and writing. What emerges from the various chapters is that the motivational aspects of writing represent a rich, productive and partially still unexplored research field. This volume is a step in the direction of a more systematic analysis of the problems as well as an effort to present and compare various models, perspectives and methods of motivation and writing.
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
Using Google can be really helpful when you're doing research, especially if you use these quick tips!
1. Change the "Domain"​
- Looking for Government information? Use .gov in your search
- If you search "Statistics on the economy" site:gov, you'll find government sites focusing on the economy, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Looking for Education resources? Use .edu in your search
- If you search "statistics on the economy" site:edu, you'll find academic sites focusing on the economy, such as articles from colleges and universities.
- Looking for Non-Profit research? Use .org in your search
- If you search "statistics on the economy" site:org, you'll find non-profit sites focusing on the economy, such as the United Nations Statistics division.
​2. Put your search in "Quotes"
- If you're searching for more than one word, use quotes to search as a phrase.
- ​EX: "Student Loans"
- A Google Scholar search will bring you lots of academic results, and it is a great place to start.
- If you can't read the articles online, let us know and we'll find the Full Text for you!
