Get help from the library!
Hi everyone! Thanks for checking out the library. We are here to help you with any question, but specifically, we are experts in finding and using information. If you are working on a research project and run into any issues or questions, just ask.
I share online office hours with my fellow librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help finding resources, click here to book an appointment (if none of these times work for you, let me know and we will do our best to meet at your convenience). Otherwise, please email with any questions. I'm happy to help!
Lisa Spicola | lspicola@jwu.edu
You can also chat or text with the librarian on duty.
Looking for resources for one of your classes? Click here!
- Library HomepageUse the library homepage to find thousands of articles on multidisciplinary topics.
- Tour of Library Services and ResourcesProvides an interactive tour of library services and instruction for a basic keyword search in our databases
- Library Help TutorialsFind PDFs on many search topics including finding scholarly articles and APA format.
What is a Scholarly Journal?
Also known as scholarly, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals.
Audience: Written for academics and professionals.
Author/Authority: Articles written by researchers or scholars in the field who report the results of original research.
Citations: Articles include footnotes and a list of citations at the end of the article.
Content: Includes scholarly research for a particular profession or industry.
Frequency: Usually published bimonthly or quarterly.
Examples:
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
- ZoteroZotero is a free, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. Its features help users:
-Collect citation information from article databases, catalogs and websites
-Generate bibliographies and in-text citations
-Store and organize PDFs, documents, links, and notes
-Collaborate and share with others using groups
-Backup and access with an online copy - Zotero Quick Start GuideHow to install, open, and use Zotaro.
- MendeleyMendeley is a citation management tool that lets you collect & organize citations, & then easily insert them into documents & format bibliographies. But it also lets you drag & drop PDFs into your library & extracts the metadata to create a library!
- Mendeley Help GuidesVideos, tutorials and short text guides.
- Citation MachineFree citation maker. Choose APA, select your resource type, edit, and create your citation.
- APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Purdue)Example papers and citations.
Librarians are here to help answer your questions - you can ask us anything! Click the button to chat with a librarian.
Need more help? Book an appointment with a librarian.
Databases can be tricky. When you are looking at an article in a database, the URL (or link) that you see in your browser's address bar is only active for a short period of time. This means if you save the link and try to return to the article the next day, you will see an error. So, each database has a "permalink" feature built in - this is the only link that will allow you to return to the article at a later time.
You may have to search around a bit to find it, and, remember, librarians are standing by to help! Sometimes, there is a permalink button that, when clicked, will open a frame containing your link. Other times, the permalink may live in the citation provided by the database. Keep an eye out for the link icon 
for permalinks.
Here are a few examples of where to find permalinks in our databases:
