Find Books & More!!!
Suggested Search Terms:
- Fundraising
- Grants
- Nonprofit organizations - Accounting
- Nonprofit organzations - Finance
- Nonprofit organizations - Taxation
- Proposal writing for grants
Recommended Books
Ethical Fundraising: A Guide for Nonprofit Boards and FundraisersCall Number: HG 177 .E83 2008Available at Downcity Library.
Grant ManagementCall Number: HG 177 .H355 2010Available at Downcity Library.
Managing Nonprofit Financial and Fiscal OperationsCall Number: HG 4027.65 .S96 2009Availablel at Downcity Library.
Model Policies and Procedures for Not-For-Profit OrganizationsCall Number: HF 5686 .N56 M386 2008Publication Date: 2008Available at Downcity Library.
Articles
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
The resources below will assist you in researching the financial and fund-raising aspects of running a nonprofit. You can obtain full-text research articles, which are constantly updated Also includes tax information..
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
- LexisNexisFull-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Best source for up-to-date business news.
Journals
These online journals are a useful resource for researching nonprofits' issues and news.
Other Useful Resources
- All About Financial Management in NonprofitsFrom Carter McNamara's "Free Management Library." Gives in-depth information for many aspects of setting up and administering finances for nonprofits. Outstanding; thorough and easy-to-use.
The sites below link to practical resources for many aspects of nonprofit financial management, grantsmanship, fundraising and taxation.
- All About Nonprofit FundraisingFrom Carter McNamara's "Free Management Library". Gives in-depth information on many aspects of nonprofit fundraising. Outstanding; thorough and easy-to-use.
- Demystifying the 990-PFFrom the Foundation Center. "The 990-PF is the information return U.S. private foundations file with the Internal Revenue Service". Provides general information, disclosure requirements, anatomy of Form 990-PF and more.
- Foundation CenterFounded in 1956, the Foundation Center considers itself to be "... the nation's premier grantseeking database". "Foundation Directory Online" is subscription-based. "Gain Knowledge" provides free information on a variety of nonprofit issues, research studies and more. This is probably the best all-round resource for information on non-profits. Outstanding; best navigation is by "Site Map".
- Fund Raiser / Grant-Writing ConsultantsProvides over 30 links to fund-raising and grant-writing consultants. Also includes links to "Related Articles and Books" From Jon Harrison, Michigan State University Libraries.
- Funding EssentialsFrom About.com. Includes tips/tools for increasing nonprofits' fundraising abilities. Includes such topics as "major gifts,""planned giving," and more. Great for practical information.
- Grants for NonprofitsDirectory of websites for grants in over 30 nonprofit categories (includes business, education, social service, science and health). Each nonprofit profile includes contact information and a brief description of the organization's activities/focus. One of the best; easy-to-navigate. From Jon Harrison, Michigan State University Libraries.
- GRANTS.GOVThis federal site provides access to "over 1,000 grant programs and vet grant applicants for 26 federal grant-making agencies". Browse by "Newest Opportunities", "Categories", "Agencies", "Eligibilities". Also searchable. Best official resource for locating grant information for federal programs.
- List of Fundraising Ideas (A to Z)From the Fund Raising Ideas Center. Offers over 70 ideas/suggestions for activities designed to help a non-profit raise funds. Aside from the obvious (bake sales, carwashes, auctions), this site offers some ingenious (and often humorous) ways to raise money.
- Tax Information for Charities & Other Non-ProfitsFrom the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Links to official sites for a variety of forms/regulations for tax status of nonprofits.
- Zimmerman's Research Guide: Tax-Exempt Organizations.From LexisNexis InfoPro. Links to sites for various types of tax-exempt resources, both free-of-charge and fee-based.
