Nonprofits: Evaluating Non-Profits

This site provides an extensive browsable directory of charities/nonprofits (includes information on financial disclosure, % of income directly program-related). Also searchable. Contains an excellent "Resource Library".

Evaluates the "financial health of over 5,500 of America's largest charities". Browse by category (9) or browse by charity's name (A to Z). Searchable. Charity profile includes an overall rating, income statement and more. Registry required (it's free). One of the oldest and most respected resources of its kind.

"Glasspockets is a Foundation Center initiative that champions philanthropic transparency in an online world. Launched in 2010, but with roots dating back to the Center's founding in 1956, Glasspockets provides the data, resources, examples, and action steps foundations need to understand the value of transparency, be more open in their own communications, and help shed more light on how private organizations are serving the public good".

Provides profile of thousands of charities/nonprofits. Profiles include general information, financial information, program information and more. Must register (it's free). Another great resources for evaluating organizations in the nonprofit sector.

"Association of state offices charged with oversight of charitable organizations and charitable solicitations in the United States". Also links to federal resources.

From the Urban Institute. "The national clearinghouse of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States". Compiles statistics on national and state trends. Registration required. Also documents profiles of individual charitable contributions by state, 2005-2010. Best site for statistical profiles/information.