Advertising Industry: Print Advertising

Provides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.

Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.

Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.

Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.

Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."

From "Statista".

From "Statista".

From "Statista".

From "Statista".

From "Statista".

From "Statista".

From "Statsta".

From "Statista".

Which ad agencies do companies use, and how much do they spend annually on advertising? This directory lists public and private U.S. and international companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising, plus profiles of ad agencies and brand names. NOTE: If you see a warning message about this "website's security certificate," you MUST click on the link “Continue to this website (not recommended)," before being passed on to Redbooks. PLEASE "SIGN OFF" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access Redbooks at the same time.

Market research studies contain consumer demographics which describe the "readers, viewers, or listeners" of various media such as magazines, TV, radio, and websites. ACCESS, First-Time Users: Register to set up your free account by using your University email address ending in either @jwu.edu or @wildcats.jwu.edu (you must do this for each address you plan to use) and a password of your choice. Look for a validation email from the vendor "mriplus" then click on the link in the email to activate your account. NOTES: You cannot use other email such as Gmail, Hotmail, or Yahoo. Also, you must turn off all pop-up blockers, and the Google Chrome browser will not work.

Advertising costs and consumer lifestyles: What would it cost to advertise your business or service in magazines, newspapers, radio, television, outdoor billboards, or websites? Find ad rates, circulation figures, audience demographics, and contact info. for publishers/sales. Do you need to identify consumer spending behavior in potential market areas? What do people spend their money on? Access all 12 report titles: Business Publication Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Direct Marketing, Digital Networks & Tech, Digital Websites, International Media Guides, Local Market Audiences, Newspaper Media, Out-of-Home Media, Print Media Production, Radio Media, TV & Cable Media. NOTE: SRDS works better with the IE BROWSER.

From Buzzle.com.

From Buzzle.com. Discusses advantages of magazine advertising vs. other ad mediums.

From "Business Insights: Global". An industry "snapshot" narrative which provides information on the role of direct mail advertising.

From Ezine @rticles. Practical advice on methods for maximizing effectiveness of direct mail.

Useful tips and strategies for direct mail. Not extensive, but very practical.

From "Marketing Degree". Excellent, concise history of the billboard industry in the United States.

Written by David Knarr for Studio 1 Productions. Comprehensive, insightful article on many aspects of magazine advertising, both print and online. Outstanding.

Provides statistics/analysis of newspaper advertising. "Resources" include articles (over 200), reports and presentations. "Trends & Numbers" highlight advertising expenditures, circulation, audience and more.

From Duke University Libraries Digital Collections. Provides access to over 16,000 images from the late 19th century until the 1990s. Browse alphabetically, by product, date, place, subject, company, placement company, medium. Outstanding; best resource for historical images of outdoor advertising for the 20th century.

From Ezine @rticles. Offers basic advice on methods for maximizing effectiveness of newspaper advertising.

By Angela Campbell for eHow. Short, but useful, article on the advantages/disadvantages of advertising in print media.