LibGuides: Baking & Pastry Studies: Food Preservation

Helpful Books & DVDs @ Harborside Library

New fears for food [videorecording] : irradiation - promise or threat? / a production of Cambridge Educational)
Call Number: TP371.8 .N48x 2004
Preserving food without freezing or canning : traditional techniques using salt, oil, sugar, alcohol, vinegar, drying, cold storage, and lactic fermentation : the gardeners and farmers of Terre Vivante
Call Number: TX601 .C64313 2007
ISBN: 1933392592

Food Preservation on the Web

Food Preservation Tips & Resources
Resources & tips provided by Nutrition.gov.
Health & Nutrition : Food Safety and Storage
Info provided by the FDA.
National Center for Home Food Preservation
Provides basic info about different types of preservation methods, safety guidelines, recipes, videos and grahics.

Culinary Databases

Culinary Arts (Gale)
more...less...
Also includes information about culinary education/schools with citations to articles dating back to 1981 about people and programs affiliated with Johnson & Wales.

Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/prov43712?db=PPTH

Nutrition Databases

Health and Life Sciences Journals Collection (ScienceDirect / Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?
url=https://www.sciencedirect.com
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/prov43712?db=HRCA
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/prov43712?db=HWRC

Natural Medicines (Therapeutic Res. Ctr.)
SAGE Journals Online (Premier)
more...less...
Full-text articles published before 1999 are NOT available directly from this database. Submit an Interlibrary Loan form online at this url: http://library.uri.edu/screens/illforms.html
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)

Featured Resource: Food Science Source

Find articles about Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.

Food Science Source (EBSCO)
Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.