Helpful Books & DVDs @ the Harborside Library
Dictionary of food ingredients / Robert S. Igoe, Y.H. HuiCall Number: TX551 .I26 2001ISBN: 0834219522Note: Library use only
Essential guide to food additives by Call Number: TX553.A3 E84 2008ISBN: 1905224508Note: Library use only
Food Additives on the Web
- Approved Color AdditivesCheck out this list of approved color additives from the US FDA.
- Color AdditivesInfo, news, and regulations about color additives provided by the US FDA.
- Food Ingredients & ColorWell-organized overview from the US FDA and the International Food Information Council. Includes links to other resources.
- Food Ingredients & PackagingPackaging info, news, and regulations provided by the US FDA.
Culinary Databases
Nutrition Databases
- Health and Life Sciences Journals Collection (ScienceDirect / Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search for More Free Health Articles
- PubMedThis database, provided by the US National Library of Medicine, includes citations from MEDLINE & other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Limit search to "Links to free full-text".
Featured Resource: Food Science Source
Find articles about Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
- Food Science Source (EBSCO)Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
