Vegan Books @ the Harborside Library
Find vegetarian and vegan cookbooks in the TX837 section (Row O1) and history in the TX392 section (Row H1) of the Harborside Library. Here is a selection:
The Artful Vegan by Call Number: TX837 .T82 2003ISBN: 9781580082075Publication Date: 2003-11-13Since 1994, San Francisco's Millennium Restaurant has created a visionary gourmet experience, redefining vegan cuisine for the twenty-first century.
Vegan Handbook by Call Number: TX837 .V422 2000ISBN: 9780931411175Publication Date: 1996-08-01A much-needed guide for the novice as well as the long-time vegan. It contains extensive information for vegans, including dietary exchange lists for meal planning, sports nutrition for vegans, vegan meal plans and one-week menus, delicious, quick recipes for readers who don't enjoy cooking but want to live healthily, vegetarian history and plenty more.
Vegan Lunch Box by Call Number: TX837 .M463 2008ISBN: 9781600940729Publication Date: 2008-08-05Quick and easy plant-based recipes and menus -- with allergen information and allergen-free options -- for feeding happy, healthy kids.
Vegan with a Vengeance by Call Number: TX837 .M75 2005ISBN: 9781569243589Publication Date: 2005-10-28The classic first cookbook from the coauthor of Veganomicon is back with even more tasty recipes, chatty anecdotes, and money-saving tips for easy plant-based cooking, featuring tempting full-color photos throughout.
Vegucated
Check out the trailer for Vegucated, a "guerrilla-style documentary that follows three meat- and cheese-loving New Yorkers who agree to adopt a vegan diet for six weeks and learn what it’s all about".
Search in These Databases for Articles
- Acad. of Nutrition & Dietetics: Evidence Analysis Library (EAL)Research on nutrition, nutrients, and foods used to promote health throughout the human life cycle (infants to seniors), including evidence-based nutrition guidelines to treat diseases and conditions. Use together with the Nutrition Care Manual (NCM). PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the EAL at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. of Nutrition & Dietetics: Nutrition Care Manual (NCM)Evidence-based nutrition care information for diseases & conditions, complete with meal plans, electronic calculators, and client/patient education handouts. See also the "Resources" tab and sidebar for cultural/ethnic food practices. Use together with the Evidence Analysis Library (EAL). PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the NCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. of Nutrition & Dietetics: Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual (PNCM)Children/patient information handouts (with Spanish translations), meal plan handouts, and nutrition care for diseases & conditions including behavioral health. Also includes online calculators. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the PNCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Acad. of Nutrition & Dietetics: Sports Nutrition Care Manual (SNCM)Nutrition information is provided by Board Certified Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs). Includes patient information and meal plan handouts, nutrition care for diseases & conditions, and online calculators to estimate BMI, energy expenditure, sweat rate, lean body mass, and healthy body weight. PLEASE "LOG OUT" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access the SNCM at the same time. Please check back later!
- Culinary Arts (Gale)Many full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines, plus recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry trends & news.
- Food Science Source (EBSCO)Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center (Gale)Complete content from medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources plus many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals.
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)Many full-text articles on such topics as addictions, diseases, fitness, nutrition, occupational health & safety, prescription drugs, public health, and more. This is a subset of the larger database Health & Wellness Resource Center.
- Hospitality & Tourism CompleteMany full-text articles covering Baking & Culinary Arts, Business Travel, Event Management, Food & Beverage, Gaming & Casinos, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management, Leisure Studies, Market Trends, Meetings, Menu Planning, Restaurants, and more.
- Natural Medicines (Therapeutic Res. Ctr.)For healthcare students, professionals, and nutritionists. Access current medical and alternative therapies including nutrition, diets & dietary supplements, functional foods, and exercises for various medical conditions and sports medicine, complete with charts & tables, calculators, and a symptom checker.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)Many full-text articles from sports and sports medicine journals plus books and book chapters.
Vegan on the Web
- Isa Chandra MoskowitzThis site by vegan expert Isa Chadra Moskowitz offers lots vegan recipes. Find books by Moskowitz at Harborside Library (see them on the left-side of this page).
- Robin RobertsonCheck out this cooking blog by Robin Robertson, a vegan cookbook author. Find some of her books at Harborside Library too.
- VegBlogsWhat are vegan bloggers talking about today? Read a variety of interesting posts here. Also, browse a long list of links to vegan blogs.
