Recommended Books
Waterpower in Lowell: Engineering and Industry in Nineteenth-Century AmericaPublication Date: 2009E-book.
Industry Profile
This database will direct you to an in-depth profile on the hydropower industry.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
Articles & Databases
- Business & Company Resource CenterProvides company profiles and full-text articles on hydropower. May also include industry profiles.
The resources below will assist you in researching company and industry information for the hydropower industry. You can also obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
- GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) (Gale)Many full-text articles plus streaming videos on important aspects of environmental issues: economic, political, legal, and the human impact on the environment.
- LexisNexisFull-text articles on hydropower energy from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Best source for up-to-date business news. Also includes company profiles.
Videos on Hydropower & Water Power
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.
These Films on Demand videos touch on various aspects hydropower and water power . To access them, type the titles below in the searchbox in the upper right hand corner.
- "Boulder Dam (c. 1950)"
- "Oceanic Electric Power"
- "The Eternal Cycle: Water Power"
- "Water Energy"
Additional videos may be located using keyword searching.
Associations
Links to trade organizations for the hydropower industry.
- National Hydropower AssociationThis trade association promotes the use of hydropower as a clean, safe, newewable source of energy.
- International Hydropower Association (IHA)"A non-government, mutual association of organisations and individuals" dedicated to "meeting the world's growing water and energy needs as a clean, renewable and sustainable technology". Provides information about IHA membership, sustainability/climate initiatives, events and publications. Links to international/national organization and media. Free e-mail newsletter available.
Other Useful Resources
- How Hydropower Plants WorkFrom HowStuffWorks.com. Basic information on the operation of hydropower plants,. Includes links to related sites.
Links to sites for other useful information on the hydropower industry.
- Hydropower InformationFrom the U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation. Provides information on hydropower energy in the U.S., "the role of hydropower in the U.S. Energy Equation", major producers and more. An excellent overview of hydropower. Accessible to the layman.
