American Law

Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.

Over 70,000 ebooks including Area Studies (country info.), Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Humanities, Language, Law, Literature, Life Sciences, Nursing & Allied Health, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Psychology & Sociology, and Religion.

Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.

Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.

Full-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].

Provides full-text documents for each state in the following categories: constitution, statutes (a.k.a. codes), legislation (bills/amendments), administrative rulings. Comprehensiveness varies from state to state. Another great site for accessing state legal information.

Sponsored by the Law Library of Congress. Links to a state's constitution, executive/judicial/legislative branches. For many states, there are also links to legal research guides produced by law schools and state bar associations. Excellent; very user-friendly.

From Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute (LII). "State legal materials gathers, state by state, Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and regulations for the fifty states, plus D.C. and the U.S. territories and affiliated jurisdictions". "Uniform Law Locators" link to business/finance laws, commercial code, evidence, matrimonal/family/health laws, probate. May be browsed by jurisdiction, state statutes by topic. Excellent and comprehensive.

From the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. "A compendium of information on every state's open records and open meetings laws. Each state's section is arranged according to a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws in various states". Formerly known as "Tapping Official Secrets". A great resource for accessing a state's open meetings/open records laws.

From the National Center for State Courts. "Provides judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the courts of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level". Provides a "Court Structure Chart" for each state. Browse over 80 judicial topics. Outstanding; for links to state courts and their administrative structure, this is the place to begin research. Highly recommended.

SIV is "a project of the Center for Public Integrity, Global Integrity and Public Radio International". "An unprecedented, data-driven analysis of each state's laws and practices that deter corruption and promote accountability and openess". SIV "is designed to expose practices that undermine trust in state capitiols - and spotlight the states that are doing things right". Each state has a "Corruption Risk Report Card" which ranks a state in 14 categories ("from Public Access to Information" to "Redistricting"); no state receives an "A" grade; Rhode Island is ranked 9th (with a "C"). Outstanding resource for measuring a state's dedication to open and transparent government.

From Washburn University School of Law. Provides links to the following legal resources for each state: state courts, court decisions, court rules; many also link to law schools and state law libraries. Links to additional legal resources "Of Interest of All States". Also links to each state's agencies (boards/commissions), executive and legislative branches. Outstanding resource for locating a state's legal (and other governmental) resources in one place.

From the University of Michigan Documents Center (UMDC). Links to the following legal resources for U.S. states and territories: bills, codified law and constitution, session laws, new regulations/executive orders, codified regulations, attorneys general opinions, state courts, state law libraries. All of the resources above many not be available in every state. Excellent; very well-organized and easy-to-use.

From Cornell University Law Schools Legal Information Institute (LII). Links to state laws in 43 categories, from Agriculture to Water Codes.

Sponsored by the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press.

From Subsentio, Inc.

From the Governor Highway Safety Association.

From the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety/High Loss Data Institute.

State laws for LGBT issues.

Sponsored by the Klaas Kids Foundation.

Sponsored by Americans for Nonsmokers' Rights.

From the Child Welfare Information Gateway.