American Law

Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.

Over 70,000 ebooks including Area Studies (country info.), Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Humanities, Language, Law, Literature, Life Sciences, Nursing & Allied Health, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Psychology & Sociology, and Religion.

Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.

Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.

Full-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].

Published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). This site makes the full-text of the CFR available online. Allows searching by citation or keyword. Best official source for federal regulatory information; one of the federal government's most popular sites.

From the University of Michigan Documents Center (UMDC). Links to the Constitution, federal laws/regulations and a variety of topics impacted by federal law. Annotations are excellent. Outstanding; very well-organized and easy-to-navigate. A "must" for anyone interested in research on American law at the federal level.

"The education and research agency for the federal courts". "Contains the results of Center Research on federal court operations and procedures and court history". "Federal Judicial History" contains biographies of federal judges since 1789, histories of the federal courts, 'Landmark legislation' ". Best official source for tracing the development and functions of the federal court system.

From the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. Provides access to the following federal laws/guides for "open government": "Federal Freedom of Information Act", "Major U.S. Supreme Court FOIA Cases", "Federal Open Meetings Laws" and the "Privacy Act of 1974" ("allows citizens to find what information the government keeps on them, primarily in order to ensure its accuracy"). Excellent resource for locating federal "open government" statutes/regulations in one place.

Created to aid federal lawyers and other federal employees in doing research, Fed Law also provides quick access for the layperson for the following: federal laws and regulations, federal judiciary, legislative branch, arbitration/mediation, "how-to" legal guide and more. Includes a topic/title index. Outstanding; does a masterful job of arranging these resources into a coherent, user-friendly format.

Since 1995, the Library of Congress has utilitzed THOMAS to "make federal legislative information freely available to the public". Laws can be traced from initial states (committees, proceedings, proposals) until the final passage and enactment by House and Senate. Online accessibility to the Congressional Record. Voting records of Congressmen and Senators. "Help" feature is useful for navigation. Best official resource for accessing Congresssional legislative information.

From the Law Library of Congress. Execellent overview of the federal court system, include the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, District Courts, federal procedure and more. Outstanding; easy to navigate and a great introduction to the federal court system.

From the Administrative Office of the United States Courts. Provide information on the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Court of Appeals, U.S. District Courts, U.S. Bankruptcy Courts. Provides a description of federal courts, their structures/procedures and additional information. Excellent; a great place to learn about the federal court system.

From Justia.com Virtual Chase. Excellent directory (19 resources) of official sites and research guides covering all aspects of federal codes/statutes. Annotations are excellent. One of the best resources of its kind.