Get help from the library!
Hi everyone! Thanks for checking out the library. We are here to help you with any question, but specifically, we are experts in finding and using information. If you are working on a research project and run into any issues or questions, we are here to help! Our homepage is a great place to get started on your research; we do know it can be a bit confusing at first, so please ask us as many questions as you want.
If you'd like some one-on-one help finding resources, click here to book an appointment. I'm happy to help!
| 401-598-1121
You can also chat or text with the librarian on duty.
- Library HomepageUse the library homepage to find thousands of articles on multidisciplinary topics.
- Tour of Library Services and ResourcesProvides an interactive tour of library services and instruction for a basic keyword search in our databases
- Library Help TutorialsFind PDFs on many search topics including finding scholarly articles and APA format.
What is a Scholarly Journal?
Also known as scholarly, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals.
Audience: Written for academics and professionals.
Author/Authority: Articles written by researchers or scholars in the field who report the results of original research.
Citations: Articles include footnotes and a list of citations at the end of the article.
Content: Includes scholarly research for a particular profession or industry.
Frequency: Usually published bimonthly or quarterly.
Examples:
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- For full-text articles and book chapters: SELECT "Only content I have access to" and look for the solid green, square icon
- This site does not work with Internet Explorer
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles from 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR
- Content covers fields such as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
A list of journals with "supply chain" in their title - once you select a journal, select the option to "search within" for articles, or browse by date of publication
- ZoteroZotero is a free, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. Its features help users:
-Collect citation information from article databases, catalogs and websites
-Generate bibliographies and in-text citations
-Store and organize PDFs, documents, links, and notes
-Collaborate and share with others using groups
-Backup and access with an online copy - Zotero Quick Start GuideHow to install, open, and use Zotaro.
- MendeleyMendeley is a citation management tool that lets you collect & organize citations, & then easily insert them into documents & format bibliographies. But it also lets you drag & drop PDFs into your library & extracts the metadata to create a library!
- Mendeley Help GuidesVideos, tutorials and short text guides.
- Citation MachineFree citation maker. Choose APA, select your resource type, edit, and create your citation.
- APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Purdue)Example papers and citations.
Librarians are here to help answer your questions - you can ask us anything! Click the button to chat with a librarian.
Need more help? Book a Skype appointment with a librarian.
