Shorter Encore Box
Featured Book @ Harborside Library
The geometry of pasta / Caz Hildebrand & Jacob KenedyCall Number: TX809.M17 H54 2010ISBN: 9781594744952
Also take a look at the website which includes pasta shape identifiction and some recipes.
What's that Ingredient?
Feeling smart? Take the Mental Floss Magazine's Obscure Spices Quiz!
- Gernot Katzer's Spice PagesIncludes photographs, sensory qualities, origins, etymology, uses, and links to other resources. Also covers spice blends.
- Visual Dictionary : Food & KitchenThis Merriam-Webster dictionary offers pictures, short descriptions, and audio pronunciations.
eBooks with Ingredient Info
Take a look at all of the food titles available from ABC-CLIO eBooks. (Click on the subject category "Popular Culture" to see the "Popular Culture (General)" list).
Also, check out more Credo "Food and Beverage" eBooks.
Rice: A Precious Commodity
Helpful Books @ the Harborside Library
Find many encyclopedias and dictionaries at the library desk and in the TX340 - TX353 area of the Harborside Library.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Call Number: GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 0684805650Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only; Includes volumes 1-3
Food Culture in MexicoCall Number: GT 2853 .M6 L66 2005ISBN: 031332431X(Food Culture around the World)
The Harborside Library has 13 different titles of Food Culture around the World that include timelines, historical overviews, major foods and ingredients, cooking, typical meals, eating out, special occasions, diet and health, recipes and more.
NOTE: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only; This series also available online (see eBooks box above)
Lonely Planet World Food PortugalCall Number: GT2853.A1 P67x 2002ISBN: 1864501111(Lonely Planet World Food Guides)
The Harborside Library has 19 different Lonely Planet World Food Guides that include the culture of food and drink, wine regions and types, influences and more.
Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only
Moveable feasts : the history, science, and lore of food / Gregory McNameeCall Number: TX353 .M395 2007ISBN: 0275989313Note: Also available online (see eBooks box above)
The flavor bible : the essential guide to culinary creativity, based on the wisdom of America's most imaginative chefs / Karen Page and Andrew DornenburgCall Number: TX651 .P34 2008ISBN: 0316118400Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only
The Oxford companion to American food and drinkCall Number: TX349 .O94 2007ISBN: 0195307968NOTE: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only
The Spice and Herb Bible by Call Number: TX406 .H46 2006ISBN: 0778801462Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only
Websites with Ingredient Info
These sites offer info on specific ingredients.
- Food-Info.netFind descriptions and history on a number of food products.
- Gernot Katzer's Spice PagesIncludes photographs, sensory qualities, origins, etymology, uses, and links to other resources. Also covers spice blends.
- Iowa State's Agricultural Marketing Resource CenterProvides background info and website links for a full-range of commodities in the areas of fruits, grains, livestock, nuts and vegetables.
- The Food TimelineProvides history of foods, using a variety of references.
Free Images on the Web
Need images for a blog or website? Check out wylio.com!
- Classroom ClipartFind over 300 images (clipart and photographs) in the "Foods" category.
- Clipart ReviewIncludes free clipart in the areas of "Food & Drink", "Medieval/Renaissance Food", and more.
- CoolClipsIncludes many clipart images in its "Food" section.
- FlickrFlickr's Creative Commons page offers millions of images free for downloading.
- FreeFoto.comFind about 900 "Food & Drink" photos in its "Other" category near the bottom of the page. Or, use the search box at the top to locate a photo.
- Pics4Learning.comFind hundreds of photos in the "Food" section.
- SprixiTry this new and easy-to-use search site to find images from Flickr and OpenClipArt.
- USDA Agricultural Research Service Image GalleryProvides photos of crops, fruits, vegetables, and other agricultural areas.
Google Your Ingredient
Search for your specific ingredient. It may be helpful to add the word "~history". (Using the "~" will also locate synonyms of your word.)
