Recommended Books
Ads, Fads, and Consumer Culture by ISBN: 9781442206694Publication Date: 2011-04-16Now in its fourth edition, the popular Ads, Fads, and consumer Culture is an engaging cultural studies critique of contemporary advertising and its impacts on American society. Arthur Asa Berger looks at marketing strategies, sex and advertising, consumer culture, political advertising, and communication theory and process to give an accessible overview of advertising in America. This new edition features up-to-date examples and new theoretical material, including expanded discussions of a number of topics, such as WeberÆs study of religion and its role in consumption, the role of the unconscious and emotion in shaping consumer behavior, the way brands shape the behavior of ômall girls,ö sexuality and advertising, and MaslowÆs theory of needs. The book also comes complete with updated ads and BergerÆs signature drawings. Whether they are new to BergerÆs lively style of teaching and writing or loyal adopters, advertising and media professors will want to check out the latest edition of this text. Book jacket.
Hey, Whipple, Squeeze This by ISBN: 9781118223833Publication Date: 2012-01-26The classic (and irreverent) bestselling guide to creating great advertising Hey Whipple, Squeeze This has inspired a generation of ad students, copywriters, and young creatives to make their mark in the industry. But students need new guidance to ply their craft now in the digital world. This new fourth edition explains how to bring brand stories into interactive, dynamic places online, in addition to traditional television, radio, print, and outdoor ads. Creativity is still king, but this new edition contains: Important new chapters and updates that bring Whipple into the new digital world New content and examples for how to use social media and other emerging platforms Illustrate what's changing in the new world of advertising-and what isn't Hey Whipple, Squeeze This! will help sharpen your writing chops, unleash your creativity, and help raise the level of your work from hack to master craftsman.
Seducing the Subconscious by ISBN: 9781119967620Publication Date: 2012-03-21Our relationship with ads: it's complicated A must-read for anyone intrigued by the role and influence of the ad world, Seducing the Subconscious explores the complexities of our relationship to advertising. Robert Heath uses approaches from experimental psychology and cognitive neuroscience to outline his theory of the subconscious influence of advertising in its audience's lives. In addition to looking at ads' influence on consumers, Heath also addresses how advertising is evolving, noting especially the ethical implications of its development. Supported by current research, Seducing the Subconscious shows us just how strange and complicated our relationship is with the ads we see every day.
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching company and industry information for the advertising industry. You can also obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
- Advertising Redbooks.comWhich ad agencies do companies use, and how much do they spend annually on advertising? This directory lists public and private U.S. and international companies who spend at least $200,000 annually on advertising, plus profiles of ad agencies and brand names. NOTE: If you see a warning message about this "website's security certificate," you MUST click on the link “Continue to this website (not recommended)," before being passed on to Redbooks. PLEASE "SIGN OFF" at end of your session. Only a limited number of people can access Redbooks at the same time.
- Business Insights: Global (Gale)Comprehensive business content including case studies, company profiles & industry research reports, country economic reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives. (formerly, Business & Company Resource Center)
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Journals
These online journals are a useful resource for researching advertising issues and news.
Industry Profiles
- Advertising AgenciesFrom ValuationResources. Provides industry resources, industry outlook, salary surveys, trade association directories and more. Some content is fee-based but much is provided free-of-charge. Great resource for an industry overview.
The databases below will direct you to in-depth information for the advertising industry in general.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
- First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
Statistics
- Statistics and Data on Advertising in the U.S.From "Statista".
Careers
- Advertising and Promotion ManagersFrom O*Net Online. This Bureau of Labor Statistics site provides an excellent job description for advertising and promotion managers. Includes tasks, tools, skills, technology, education, work activities and more.
- Careers in Advertising and Public RelationsSub page of Careers-in-Marketing.com. Links to sites for overview, skills/talents, facts, trends, blogs, videos. Very good for getting and industry overview.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)One of the federal government's most popular online resources, the OOH provides the following information on the advertising, promotions and marketing professions: nature of the work, job outlook, training/qualifications, employment projections, wages/earnings, related occupations. One of the best sites for finding "the basics" for many occpupations.
Advertising in the U.S.
These links provide background information about the historical development of America's advertising industry.
- Ad*Access"Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955." "Concentrates on ... Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II." From Duke University Libraries Digital Collections.
- Advent of AgenciesFrom the History of American Business. Excellent article tracing the development of advertising agencies.
- Advertising CenturyPublished in 1999, this special issue of Ad Age magazine chronicles the development of the industry during the 20th century. Includes the 100 people and ad campaigns, top 10 jingles/slogans/icons and a timeline. The sections on people and ad campaigns are especially useful for industry historical background.
- AdViews"A digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s." Browse by company, product, date. From Duke University Libraries Digital Collections.
- Business History of AdvertisingFrom "Business History." Provides an extensive chronology of the advertising industry from the 1840's to the present. Also provides a bibliography (very extensive), links to websites. Outstanding; highly recommended.
- Early Advertising of the West, 1867-1918Consists of over 400 print advertisements from the end of the Civil War to the start of World War I. Browse 45 topics for a variety of products and services. High-quality resolution. From University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920Consists of over 9,000 advertising images from the mid-19th century to 1920. Browse by company, product, subject. Includes timeline. From the Duke University Libraries Digital Collections.
- HarpWeek presents 19th Century AdvertisingVintage ads from the pages of Harper's weekly.
- Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History.From Duke University. "Promotes understanding of the social, cultural and historic impact of advertising, marketing and sales." Outstanding resource for the development of the advertising industry.
- Historical AdvertisementsLinks to over 20 sites for digitized images of advertisements for food products, medicine, military recruitment, political candidates and more. From Penn State Libraries.
- Truth-in-Advertising CodesFrom the History of American Business. Article on the development of truth-in-advertising codes for the advertising industy.
Advertising Law
Sites below link to federal government advertising laws/regulation and other useful sites on all aspects of advertising law.
- Advertising GuidanceFrom the Federal Trade Commission (FTC). Links to FTC documents concerning advertising law for a variety of practices and specific products.
- Advertising LawFrom Marketing Degree. Provides excellent links to government agencies (FTC, SBA) and professional organizations/publications (Better Business Bureau, Advertising Age).
- Avoid Unlawful Advertising: Seven Rules for Your BusinessFrom Nolo.com. Practical advice for preventing legal mistakes for businesses.
- FTC on AdvertisingFrom Marketing Degree. Excellent discussion of the role of the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) in regulating advertisers.
- Guide to Advertising LawFrom Hieros Gamos. Links to advertising law sites in the U.S. and internationally. Also links to professional associations/organizations. Not extensive but a great site for beginning research.
- Loose Truths - The Business of False AdvertisingFrom Marketing Degree. Excellent discussion of false advertising, including specific instances of misrepresdentation and outright fraud.
Other Useful Sites
Links below include career information and other advertising-related resources.
- About.com: AdvertisingSub-page of the About.com gateway. Includes articles on a wide variety of issues/trends, glossaries, career information, a blog and a section on Super Bowl ads. Great resource for practical industry information.
- Advantages and Disadvantages of Various Advertising MediumsFrom PowerHomeBiz.com. Analyzes the pro's and con's of 11 types of advertising.
- AdvertisingFrom Buzzle.com. Excellent overview of many aspects of advertising.
- Advertising AgeLinks to industry news, columnists, blogs and more. The industry's premier publication.
- Advertising AgenciesFrom "Business InsightsL Global". An industry "snapshot" narrative which provides infomation on advertising agencies in the U.S.
- Advertising Archives"Over 50,000 images" from the mid-19th century to the present". Primarily British, but also includes international content. Registration required, but it's free. Outstanding; great for the historical development of advertising.
- Advertising Collections & MuseumsFrom the Advertising Educational Foundation (AEF). Links to digital archives for various advertising topics and eras. Also links to advertising awards. Excellent resource for historical and background industry information.
- Advertising InformationFrom BusinessKnowledgeSource.com. Practical articles on all aspects of advertising strategies, including SMS Advertising, Facebook advertising, advertising campaigns, using promotional items, tips for maximizing effectiveness for advertising in print, radio, newspapers, television and much, much more.
- Advertising ResourcesFrom Marketing Degree. Brief overview of the development of the industry. Links to general information, statisitcs, ad agencies, ad archives and "articles" (including the "Types and Extent of Tobacco Advertising and Promotion" from Cancer Control Center. gov.).
- Different Types of AdvertisingFrom Buzzle.com. Provides brief overviews of 20 categories of advertising, from the traditional (TV, radio, print) to "modern" ("covert" advertising (product placement), digital advertising, smartphone advertising).
- Ethics in AdvertisingFrom Marketing Degree. Excellent overview of ethical issues in advertising, including subliminal advertising, gender issues, advertising for children/adolescents, federal regulations and more. Contains numerous relevant links. Great place to begin research.
- Famous Advertising SlogansFrom Buzzle.com. Lists slogans for commercial products. Links to related content.
- Industry Research: AdvertisingThis excellent guide from the University of Southern California (USC) Libraries profiles advertising industry resources, including statistics/data, trade associations, trade publications and additional relevant reports and resources available for free online. Databases are restricted to the USC community but some are available at the JWU library.
- Outdoor Advertising ServicesFrom "Business Insights: Global". An industry "snapshot" narrative of the history and current state of outdoor advertising, which was once the primary means of advertising.
- RetroloungeAds and Images of the "Best of Bygone Eras". Very useful for advertising, design, photography and more.
- Taking ADvantageOnline book by Richard Taflinger, School of Communications, Washington State University. Contains insights into advertising's effect on consumers. Topics covered include the role of sex appeal, greed, self-esteem and more. Entertaining as well as informative.
- Where to Advertise : Media Planning Resources on the WebFrom "College & Research Library News", February 2014. This internet resources guide links to professional associations for media, print and online advertising. Excellent annotations accompany each link. Outstanding.
