Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Going Global: An Information Sourcebook for Small and Medium-Sized Businesses
Call Number: HD 2341 .A94 2009
Available at Downcity Library.
How to Turn Your Business Into the Next Global Brand
Call Number: Ref HF 5429.23 .D82x 2007
Available at Downcity Library. Must use in library.
Small-Mart Revolution: How Local Businesses Are Beating the Global Competition
Call Number: HD 2346 .U5 S55 2006
Available at Downcity Library.
Articles & Databases
Business Insights: Global
Provides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.
The resources below will assist you in researching entrepreneruship and small business in the global arena. You can also obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Emerald Management 120
Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
General Business File ASAP (Gale)
Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Full-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Best source for up-to-date business news.
These online journals are a useful resource for researching global issues about entrepreneurship and small business.
Other Useful Resources
Exporting & Importing
From U.S. Small Business Administration(SBA.gov). "Provides counseling, training and financing to support small business export opportunities". Includes detailed advice on export/import services/regulations and how to comply with them. Also links to U.S. trade agreements. Very practical and useful site.
globalEDGE: State Insights
Provides international business/trade information on all states. State profile information includes information on infrastructure/logistics, trade contacts, tax climate, exports, foreign direct investments. Also includes data on demographics, economics, state government. Best resource for quick information on a state's trade activity. From globalEDGE, the best "gateway" site for all types of international business/trade information.
From ENTERWeb, one of the best portals for for small and medium sized business development. Links have excellent annotations and are ranked. Outstanding.
International Trade: Passport to Success
From Entrepreneur.com. Humorous but informative essay on international business success.
Leading With a Global Mindset
From About.com. Laurel Delaney provides excellent advice on attitudes/behaviors which, if followed, should provide a positive experience when dealing with export/import issues.