Recommended Books
The Art of Startup Fundraising by
Startup money is moving online, and this guide shows you how it works. The Art of Startup Fundraising takes a fresh look at raising money for startups, with a focus on the changing face of startup finance. New regulations are making the old go-to advice less relevant, as startup money is increasingly moving online. These new waters are all but uncharted--and founders need an accessible guide. This book helps you navigate the online world of startup fundraising with easy-to-follow explanations and expert perspective on the new digital world of finance. You'll find tips and tricks on raising money and investing in startups from early stage to growth stage, and develop a clear strategy based on the new realities surrounding today's startup landscape. The finance world is in a massive state of flux. Changes are occurring at an increasing pace in all sectors, but few more intensely than the startup sphere. When the paradigm changes, your processes must change with it. This book shows you how startup funding works, with expert coaching toward the new rules on the field. Learn how the JOBS Act impacts the fundraising model Gain insight on startups from early stage to growth stage Find the money you need to get your venture going Craft your pitch and optimize the strategy Build momentum Identify the right investors Avoid the common mistakes Don't rely on the "how we did it" tales from superstar startups, as these stories are unique and applied to exceptional scenarios. The game has changed, and playing by the old rules only gets you left behind. Whether you're founding a startup or looking to invest, The Art of Startup Fundraising provides the up-to-the-minute guidance you need.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2016-03-31
Entrepreneurial Finance by
Featuring key topics within finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship to develop and maintain prosperous business ventures With a comprehensive and organized approach to fundamental financial theories, tools, and management techniques, Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business equips readers with the necessary fundamental knowledge and advanced skills to succeed in small firm and business settings. With a unique combination of topics from finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship, the book prepares readers for the challenges of today's economy. Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business begins with key concepts of small business management and entrepreneurship, including management tools and techniques needed to establish, run, and lead business ventures. The book then delves into how small businesses are operated, managed, and controlled. General finance skills and methods are integrated throughout, and the book also features: Numerous practical examples and scenarios that provide a real-world perspective on entrepreneurship and small business management A brief summary, list of key concepts, and ten discussion questions at the end of each chapter to prepare readers for the challenges of today's economy A practical guide to the complete life of a small business, from establishing a new venture to training and developing young entrepreneurs tasked with maintaining and developing a prosperous economy An in-depth discussion of the entire process of writing a successful business plan, including the rationale, significance, and requirements Techniques needed to solidify the free enterprise tradition, develop entrepreneurial strategies, and grow small businesses Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business is an ideal textbook for upper-undergraduate and first-year graduate courses in entrepreneurial finance within business, economics, management science, and public administration departments. The book is also useful for MBA-level courses as well as for business and management PhD majors as a resource in methodology. The book is also an idea reference for entrepreneurs, business managers, market analysts, and decision makers who require information about the theoretical and quantitative aspects of entrepreneurial finance.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2014-12-16
Excel 2019 - Business Basics and Beyond by
Are you tired of tracking financial elements of your business manually, do you have to prepare staffing schedules by hand, or do you simply want to know how to get more information from your business data? Learn how to harness your business data and put it to use for you. Learn the basics of Excel, including a comprehensive review of every tab of the Excel Ribbon. See how to best display your data for maximum impact with formatting tools, Data Tables, Charts & Pivot Tables. Use customer information to create customized letters with Mail Merge. Import data using Power Query. Calculate the costs of doing business with financial formulas, learn where to find pre-packaged business templates, and much more. This book uses real-world business examples in operation with all these elements.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2018-12-01
The Investment Handbook: The Essential Funding Guide for Entrepreneurs. by
The all-you-need-to-know guide to Investment. The yearbook is packed with practical guidance on who to contact and how to get investment. The Investors Handbook is a comprehensive directory of venture capital firms, start-up investors and angel networks. Essential for any individual or business looking for investment, it will help entrepreneurs and business owners navigate the often complex world of sourcing finance. One of the main reasons start-ups fail is a lack of access to capital or accessing capital at the wrong time. Whatever stage a business is at, this book will help entrepreneurs and business owners understand and source in areas such as: Directory of investors When to fundraise How to meet investors Best people to connect and network with Pitching your ideas After and beyond investment A must-read book with contributions from investment experts David Bateman, Eileen Modral and Jonathan Reuvid. David Bateman, is a successful entrepreneur and has founded several businesses. He is an active investor and has spoken at many leading events and at university business schools including Oxford, Cambridge, Harvard, MIT, Wharton and Columbia. Eileen Modral, is an Investment Network Manager at Oxford Investment Opportunity Network (OION), one of the UK's most well-known and established angel networks. Jonathan Reuvid was formerly an economist for French oil company Total, and later an entrepreneur. He is a published author of a range of business titles, and was writer and editor for of 'Managing Business Risk', and 'The Investors Guide to the United Kingdom'.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2018-11-30
The Investment Writing Handbook by
The writing "bible" for financial professionals The Investment Writing Handbook provides practical, accessible guidance for crafting more effective investor communications. Written by an award-winning writer, editor, and speechwriter, this book explains the principles and conventions that help writing achieve its purpose; whether you need to inform, educate, persuade, or motivate, you'll become better-equipped to develop a broad range of communications and literature for investor consumption. Examples from real-world financial institutions illustrate expert execution, while explanations and advice targeted specifically toward investor relations give you the help you need quickly. From white papers and investment commentary to RFPs, product literature, and beyond, this book is the financial writer's "bible" that you should keep within arm's reach. Investment writing is one of the primary influences on investors' attitudes. It educates, informs decisions, shapes opinions, and drives behavior--so shouldn't it be expertly-crafted to achieve its intended goal? This book explains the "tricks of the trade" to help you get your message across. Understand the principles of effective investor communication Master the conventions of informative and persuasive writing Examine well-written sample documents from real-world institutions Improve research papers, presentations, investor letters, marketing literature, and more Virtually all firms with investors as clients need to communicate to them regularly, but few financial professionals receive formal training in investor communications. When investors' opinions, attitudes, and actions determine the health of your company, it is vitally important that these communications not be left to chance. The Investment Writing Handbook provides essential guidance and clear explanations to help you transform your communication strategy, execution, and results.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2018-02-22
Navigating the Business Loan by
The need for "back to basics" information about credit risk has not disappeared; in fact, it has grown among lenders and investors who have no easy ways to learn about their clients. This short and readable book guides readers through core risk/performance issues. Readers learn the ways and means of running more efficient businesses, review bank and investor requirements as they evaluate funding requests, gain knowledge selling themselves, confidence in business plans, and their ability to make good on loans. They can download powerful tools such as banker's cash flow models and forecast equations programmable into a cell or tablet. Readers can punch keys to ascertain financial needs, calculate sales growth rates calling for external financing, profits required to internally finance their firms, and ways to position revenue growth rates in equilibrium with their firm's capital structure - a rock-solid selling point among smart lenders and investors. The book's "how-to," practical and systematical guide to credit and risk analysis draws upon case studies and online tools, such as videos, spreadsheets, and slides in providing a concise risk/return methodology. Introduces ways to define and manage risk Uses case studies and online tools to extend and apply credit analysis and business management tools Surveys "hard" and "soft" data and ways they help lenders, other financiers, small-business owners, and entrepreneurs spot potential problems, write optimal business plans, and deliver effective loan or /investor geared presentations
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2014-11-10
Raise Capital on Your Own Terms: How to Fund Your Business Without Selling Your Soul by
Fund and Fuel Your Dreams! You're an entrepreneur with a great idea. But your business needs money. So, do you max out your credit cards, borrow from friends and family, and do everything yourself? Or do you make a devil's bargain with some venture capitalist who'll demand a tenfold return and could easily take your business out from under you? No and no! You don't have to bootstrap, and you don't have to sell out! Jenny Kassan says the landscape of investment capital is far larger and more diverse than most people realize. She illuminates the vast range of capital-raising strategies available to mission-driven entrepreneurs and provides a six-step process for finding and enlisting investors who are a match with your personal goals and aspirations. The plan you create will inspire you, excite you, and help you achieve your dreams!
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2017-10-09
Venture Capital
- Angel Capital Association (ACA)"ACA is a professional society of accredited angel investors who make up the world's most prolific early-stage investment class. The association is the largest professional development organization for angel investors in the world deploying more than $650 million in early stage capital each year. ACA provides an insider perspective that can help you make smart investment decisions."
- Difference Between Venture Capital and Angel InvestingFrom About.com.
- Entrepreneur: Venture CapitalFrom Entrepreneur.com. A hub for venture capital articles and information.
- How Does Venture Capital Work?From Howstuffworks. Brief but incisive article.
- Knowledge at Wharton: Finance & AccountingFrom Wharton School of Business at UPenn. Publishes frequent articles on topics of interest in finance.
- Venture Capital & Principal Trading in the U.S. (IBISWorld)Must log in via JWU Library. Provides a comprehensive report of the venture capital economy in the U.S.
- The Venture Capital & Private Equity Country Attractiveness IndexFrom the IESE Business School. The 2023 index ranks 125 countries on their investment potential for venture capital/private equity. Each country is rated on the following: economic activity, capital market, taxation, investor protection/corporate governance, human/social environment, entrepreneurial opportunity. Ratings are available for 2010 to the present. Note that the homepage currently displays the 2021 index, but the 2023 report is available by clicking "download."
- Venture Capital (Mergent First Research)Must log in via JWU Library. Features a comprehensive look at challenges, trends, insights, and more on venture capital.
Other Useful Resources
- FinanceFrom the National SBDC Information Center Clearinghouse. Provides practical advice for a variety of business finance-related issues: buying/selling a business, sources of capital, grants, insurance and more. One of the best sites of its kind.
- Financing: Where to Find ItFrom Inc.com. Links to the following resources for financing a business: angel investors, venture capital, government programs, private equity financing, bank loans, microloans, strategic partners, direct public offers. Practical information from one of the best magazines for entrepreneurs.
- Getting Financing for Your BusinessFrom the Business Owner's Toolkit. Discusses equity financing, debt financing, government assistance. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.
- How to Do a Breakeven AnalysisFrom The Balance. Discusses how to determine the "breakeven" point for a business, the vital factor in determining pricing.
- Startup Business FinancingFrom The Balance. Concise but useful discussion of various types of financing for startups.
- What are Angel Investors?From The Balance. A brief and accessible guide to angel investors.
