Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Big Book of Small Business
Call Number: Ref hd62.7 .G434 2007
Available at Downcity Library. Must use in library.
Complete Small Business Guide: A Sourcebook for New and Small Businesses
Call Number: Ref HD 62.7 .B367 2006
Avaiable at Downcity Library. Must use in library
Entrepreneur's Guide to Managing Growth and Handling Crises
Call Number: HD 62.5 .D55 2008
Available at Downcity Library.
Human Resource Strategies for the High Growth Entrepreneurial Firm
Call Number: HF 5549 .H84 2006
Available at Downcity Library
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching the best ways to manage your business. You can also obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
Business Insights: Global
Provides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Emerald Management 120
Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
General Business File ASAP (Gale)
Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Full-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Best source for up-to-date business news.
Other Useful Resources
Provides news, advice and more on all aspects of starting, running and growing a new business. Includes videos on the newest, most innovative enterprises and interviews/advice from successful entrepreneurs.From one of the top magazines for entrepreneurs and small business developers.
Small Business Owners Idea Cafe links to many of the resources available at similar sites, but its light-hearted "FUN approach to Serious Business" is visually appealing. Membership is free and its CyberSchmooz feature is one of the best online small business discussion groups available.
Find thought-provoking, innovative ideas and sound, practical advice on all aspects of starting, developing and growing a business enterprise. Includes free newsletters and video profiles of entrepreneurial success stories from one of the top magazines for entrepreneurs.
Protecting Your Assets
From Business Owner's Tool Kit. Discusses developing an asset protection plan, day-to-day liability risks, limiting liability in your business structure and more. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.
Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE)
With offices nationwide, SCORE's volunteers (retired executives from 62 industries) have been helping entrepreneurs and small business developers for over 40 years, providing business counseling services free of charge. Provides advice, workshops/events, templates/tools and more. Outstanding resource for those who want to tap into advice from seasoned industry practitioners.
Doing Business With the Government
Doing Business with the US Government
From the "Small Business Advisor". Extensive guide for doing business with the federal government, "the largest purchaser of goods and services in the world". Explains the procedures for utilizing the Federal Acquistion Computer Network (FACNET) and the General Services Administration (GSA). Does a great job of explaining what can be an often confusing procedures.
Federal Business Opportunities (FedBizOpps.gov)
This federal agency posts available government contracts.
Browse by state/territory, type of contract, posted date.
Includes "Small Business Central Event Listing". Excellent resource for staying current on available federal contracts.
Federal Government Contracting
From the Library of Congress's Business Reference Service Division. Examines online/print resources on doing business with the federal government. Does an outstanding job of linking to many more federal online resources not always covered in similar sites. Very user-friendly. Highly recommended.
Guides for Doing Business with the Government
From the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Links to 11 federal sites which are concerned with procurement, including Central Contract Registration, minority-owned businesses, women-owned businesses, doing business with the Treasury Department and more.
Office of Government Contracting
From the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). "Works to create an environment for maximum participation by small, disadvantaged, and women-owned businesses in federal government contract awards and large prime subcontract awards". "GC advocates on behalf of small business in the federal procurement world".
State Procurement Websites
From the "Institute for Public Procurement". Links to purchasing/procurement agencies for all states.
Winning Government Contracts
From the Small Business Owner's Toolkit. Government contracts can be an excellent resource for assisting a business of any size. Includes advice on successful bidding, subcontracting and utilizing other resources. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.