Entrepreneurship & Small Business: Legal/Taxation Issues
This LibGuide originally created by Rick Keogh will assist you in locating a wide variety of information for small business development/growth, including planning, financing, managing, marketing and using government assistance resources
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
From the Business Owner's Toolkit. Discusses the various types of taxes which a business may be responsible for, including sales tax, payroll tax, income tax and more. Especially useful for issues dealing with employees/contractors. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.
From the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA.gov). Created for those who want to establish/expand a business. Links to "State Tax Resources" for the following from all states/territories: business regulation tax, general tax information/forms, workers' compensation insurance, unemployment insurance. Best official source for locating state business tax requirements in one place.
From the Internal Revenue Service (IRS.gov). Discusses tax issues for specific types of business ownership structure. Also deals with tax regulations for employees, closing a business, expenses, e-filing and more. Best resource for official federal tax rules/regulations.
From the "Small Business Advisor". Provides advice on 17 tips for maximizing savings on taxes. Includes information on tax advantages of hiring a spouse, using a car for business, "55 Commonly Omitted Tax Dedutions" and more.
"Tax, Accounting and Payroll Sites Directory". Over 80 links to tax topics, including business expenses, fringe benefits, depreciation, payroll, self-employment, small business taxes. Sections on accounting and payroll also contain extensive, relevant links. A great place to access information in one place.
From the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL). "Employment Laws Assistance for Workers & Small Businesses". Includes guidance and information on pay/benefits, safety/health, youth employment, veterans' issues and more. A-Z index links to over 250 work-related issues and DOL services. Very handy compilation of resources .
Discusses various aspects of law for small business. Includes sections on employment law, immigration law and workers' compensation. Includes "Compliance Assistance" link. Excellent place for beginning research on employment law.
This agency deals with federal laws/regulations regarding workers/employees. "A-Z" index (under "About DOL") links to over 260 work-related issues and DOL services, including topics about wages, hours of labor, occupational health/safety and more. Also includes compliance assistance materials. Best source for official information on labor issues.