Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Entrepreneur's Guide to Writing Business Plans and Proposals
Call Number: Ref HD 62.5 .C423 2008
Available at Downcity Library. Must use in Library.
Guide to Business Planning
Call Number: HD 30.28 .F747 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Available at Downcity Library.
How to Write a Business Plan
Call Number: HD 30.28 .M3839 2007
Available at Downcity Library. Disc available.
Rule's Book of Business Plans for Startups
Call Number: HD 62.5 .R85 2004
Available at Downcity Library.
Articles & Databases
Business Insights:: Global
Provides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.
The resources below will assist you in researching how to create a business plan. You can also obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
Business Plans Handbooks (Gale)
Are you planning to start a small business? This is a collection of actual business plans submitted by entrepreneurs in North America (company names and addresses have been changed). Each volume also includes a business plan template, a listing of organizations, agencies & consultants, and glossary. NOTE: You can keyword search across ALL of JWU's purchased volumes to date to find a plan for a specific type of business, for example, by entering the word "restaurant." Plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries and include both traditional businesses and new types of start-ups such as a Cloud Computing Business or an iPhone App Developer. Click on the "i" icon for more examples of the types of businesses represented.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Emerald Management 120
Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
General Business File ASAP (Gale)
Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Full-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Best source for up-to-date business news.
Other Useful Resources
Offers over 700 free sample business plans for a wide variety of business ventures (most of which are for retail, online and service businesses). "How to Write a Business Plan" guide is excellent and easy-to-use. One of the best sites for anyone preparing a business plan.
From the Free Management Library.
From Entrepreneur.com. Includes advice/guideline on creating a business plan. Also provides over 125 free sample plans in 28 business categories. Practical resource from one of the leading magazines in entrepreneurship.
How to Write a Business Plan, Sample Business Plans, Templates and More
From Myownbusiness, an international nonprofit founded in 1992. Step-by-step guidelines/advice on developing a business plan. Includes video interviews with entrepreneurs and professors of entrepreneurship.