Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating a Successful Marketing Strategy for Your Small New Business
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .S8573 2010
Available at Downcity Library.
Duct Tape Marketing: The World's Most Practical Small Business Marketing Guide
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .J366 2007
Available at Downcity Library.
Unofficial Guide to Marketing Your Small Business
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .T87x 2006
Available at the Downcity Library.
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching how to market your new business enterprise. You can also obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
Business Insights: Global
Provides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Emerald Management 120
Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
General Business File ASAP (Gale)
Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Full-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Best source for up-to-date business news.
Other Useful Resources
Advantages and Disadvantages of Various Advertising Mediums
From PowerHomeBiz.com. Analyzes the pro's and con's of 11 types of advertising.
Best Way to Advertise a Small Business
From Buzzle.com. Excellent tips on innovative, inexpensive ways to advertise an existing small business or new venture.
How Marketing Plans Work
From "HowStuffWorks". Comprehensive article (with 40 sub-sections) on marketing plans. Much of the content refers to developing marketing plans within an established company, but much of this can be useful to small businesses.
Internet Marketing for Your Business
From the Business Owner's Toolkit. Discusses creating a business website, e-commerce, search engine marketing, search engine optimization, online advertising, e-mail marketing. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.
Marketing Your Product
From the Business Owner's Toolkit. Discusses analyzing the market environment, market research, developing/refining your product, packaging/pricing, product distribution, developing a marketing plan. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.
From PaloAltoSoftware. Offers over 90 sample marketing plans, including plans for unusual businesses (houseboat rentals, windowcleaning and bicycle courier). Also includes "How-To-Articles" on procedures for creating a plan.