Entrepreneurship & Small Business: Types of Businesses
This LibGuide originally created by Rick Keogh will assist you in locating a wide variety of information for small business development/growth, including planning, financing, managing, marketing and using government assistance resources
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
From Northeastern University's Center for Family Business. Provides advice/articles for 28 topical areas, including asset protection, inter-generational issues, sibling rivalry and more. Also links similar pages from 28 educational institutions. A great resource for practical advice and links to similar resources.
Contains 300 articles in 18 categories ("Successful Succession", "Senior Generation", " and more; includes case studies. Links to a limitied number of similar sites. Excellent; articles are comprehensive, practical and well-written.
"Over 45,000 active businesses for sale". Over 70 business categories in retailing, manufacturing, services, internet businesses. Search by location and "asking price". Another good resource for up-to-date business opportunities information.
Browse available franchises by industry, average total investment, average franchise fee, alphabetical listing, total operating units, publications. Restricted to the U.S. and Canada. Excellent site for locating franchise opportunities by a variety of criteria.
"The largest nonprofit, nonpartisan association of its kind in the United States". Provides information about NASE's programs, publications, "micro-business research", lobbying efforts and membership. One of the best professional associations/organizations for the self-employed.
This sub-page from the ENTERWeb links to sites which provide practical advice. Included are guides, conference information, government assistance and more. Sites are annotated and ranked. Excellent and easy-to-use.
From USA.gov. Links to resources for launching your business: financial assistance, franchising, patents, hiring, taxes and more. Draws heavily on the SBA, DOL and other federal agencies. Also includes pertinent resources from professional associations/organizations. Excellent; very user-friendly.
Sposored by BizOffice. Links "BizOffice Library", which offers advice on running a home-based business. "Forms & Letters" provides over 500 business forms/letters. Also includes a FAQ feature, news/advice and more. Great place for researching home-based businesses.
From Boston University Libraries. Links to over 20 sites for online news/trends, e-commerce statistics, website development. Includes tips for conducting the most productive searches in online catalogs. Excellent resource for an overview of e-commerce.
"Dedicated to economically empowering and sustaining African American communities through entrepreneurship and capitalist activity". Includes information about NBCC membership, events, news, media and more.
""Founded in 1985 by a group of prominent Hispanic entrepreneurs with a vision to create an organization entrusted with developing opportunities for Hispanic businesses". Provides information on membership, events, galleries and more.
Sponsored by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). Offers practical advice on many aspects of running/managing a small business, including financing/loans, marketing, laws/regulations. Great place for start research.
From Syracuse University's WISE Women's Business Center. "Resources" links to professional organizations and other useful sites for women entrepreneurs. Also inlcudes information on WISE's events, initiatives, programs, publications and services.