Embedded Resources by Rebecca Gagne

Instructions

Find Your Group Number on the Google Doc for then write the name of each person in your group!

1. Break into groups and add your names next to your group #

2. Choose a presenter to share your findings

3. Explore the assigned databases and websites to gather information about your two countries

4. Within each database, locate at least one report/article/statistic for your countries

5. For each database, determine:

• What kind of information did you find on your two countries to compare?

  • Demographics

  • Economic status

  • Other factors that are associated with the social determinants of health: (e.g., Education, literacy rates, equality, sexual/reproductive health rights, environmental pollution)

  •  Health status

  •  Any recent events that may have substantially influenced the health status of the population

• Which database or website was most useful in finding the following, and what were you able to find?

  • Development and implementation of population-based or community-based programs, and the implementation of regulations to protect health

  • Identify the organization and structure of the public health system across different levels of government (e.g., national, regional/state/provincial, local)

  • Information on the role of government agencies and non-governmental organizations

• Any questions you have regarding the use of the database or website for your research?

6. Copy and paste the permalink or citation to an article you found that pertains to one of your countries

Which library databases should you use?

How to Start a Search

Step 1: Think about your research topic/question

Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts

Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!

• Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
• Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health 

Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)

• Full Text
• Scholarly/Peer Reviewed

Your search page will look similar to the screen below

The American Medical Association (AMA) citation style is a variation of the Vancouver system that is often used in medical and scientific writing and publishing. It's also used by health professionals and when submitting papers to journals published by the AMA.

Citation Style:

Author Last name, First Initial/Middle Initial. Title in sentence case. Abbreviated Journal Title in Title Case. Year; volume(Issue#):PP-PP. doi: ##

Note: If you are citing an online article, you should include the day and month of publication as well in the format of Month Day, Year.

Use sentence case for all titles (capitalize only the first word of the title). Abbreviate and italicize names of journals according to the listing in the National Library of Medicine database.

If you need more in depth guidance on formatting visit the Purdue Owl: AMA Style Guide or Sheridan College Library Guide.

Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?

• If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach. 
• If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed. 

If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.

If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. You can also reach out to me or JWU Library for help with citations!

The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.

Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.

Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:

1.    Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485  
2.    Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network or click here to make a writing tutor appointment.
3. Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center

For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.