Embedded Resources by Rebecca Gagne

Database Exploration/Share Out

Scenario: You need to conduct an in-depth literature search focusing on health related aspects of your assigned culture. 

Directions

1. Break into groups

2. Assign each person in the group a different database

3. Once in the database each person will find at least one article on your assigned culture.

4. Post the link and citation in your group area

5. For each database, determine:

   • What kind of information is in the database (reports, company info, industry info, statistics, articles)

   • If there is a citation button or a citation generator

   • Any additional questions you have about the database

Which library databases should you use?

How to Start a Search

Step 1: Think about your research topic/question

Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts

Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!

• Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
• Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health 

Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)

• Full Text
• Scholarly/Peer Reviewed

Your search page will look similar to the screen below

EVIDENCE-BASED PRACTICE PAPER ASSIGNMENT

Students will prepare a 2-3 page healthcare-related evidence-based practice paper based on a selected culture. The paper will introduce the student to evidence-based research and APA (7^th Ed.) format. Students will submit a draft paper for critique/corrections prior to final submission for grading by the instructor.

Students will be assigned a “culture” provided by the instructor, that will be drawn randomly.

Students will review their assigned culture, performing an in-depth literature search focusing on health-related aspects. Specifically, students will include the following within the paper:

1. Describing the culture

2. Barriers to health care within that culture

3. Nurse awareness of care delivery in that culture

4. Describe how this assignment meets Program Objective 2 (Design and deliver person-centered care across diverse populations and settings.

5. Describe how this assignment meets Course Objective 2 (Describes the concepts of person-centered care)

A minimum of 3 evidence-based articles must be used as sources for the paper; articles must have been published within the last 7 years. Additionally, the lead/first author of at least 1 article must be a nurse.

All papers should be written in APA (7^th Ed.) format. Neither the cover page nor the reference page(s) are included in the required paper length (e.g. 2-3 pages).

FIRST DRAFT SUBMISSION DUE: WEEK 7

FINAL SUBMISSION DUE: WEEK 13

The JWU library has an APA style guide to help with citations!

APA Style Guide

If you need more in depth guidance on formatting visit the Purdue OWL. 

Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?

• If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach. 
• If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed. 

If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.

If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. You can also reach out to me or JWU Library for help with citations!

The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.

Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.

Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:

1.    Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485  
2.    Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network or click here to make a writing tutor appointment.
3. Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center

For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.