Food Composition Basics
Explore resources for chemical components in food:
Shorter Encore Box
Helpful Books @ the Harborside Library
Check out the Harborside Library shelves marked “Food Science” (TP1-TP500), “Food Safety” & “Food Analysis” (both in the TX500s section).
The following are also great food science resources:
-
Biochemistry : the molecular basis of life / Trudy McKee, James R. McKee
Call Number: QD415 .M36 2003ISBN: 0071122486 -
Dictionary of food ingredients / Robert S. Igoe, Y.H. Hui
Call Number: TX551 .I26 2001ISBN: 0834219522 -
Fennema's food chemistry / edited by Srinivasan Damodaran, Kirk L. Parkin, and Owen R. Fennema
Call Number: TX541 .F65 2008ISBN: 0849392721Note: Library use only -
Food composition and nutrition tables : on behalf of the Bundesministerium für Ernährung, Landwirtschaft und Verbraucherschutz - Souci, S. Walter (Siegfried Walter), 1904-
Call Number: TX551 .S735 2008ISBN: 0849341418Note: Library use only;Written in English, French, & German
Featured Resource: Food Science Source
Find articles about Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
-
Food Science Source (EBSCO)Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
Culinary Databases
Nutrition Databases
-
Health and Life Sciences Journals Collection (ScienceDirect / Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Search the Web for Free Articles
This search engine locates scholarly literature including articles that are accessible online. (Include the phrases “full-text” or “view HTML” or “view PDF” in your search to help identify articles available full-text.)
eBook
Food Composition on the Web
-
Food-Info.netFind info about food colors, proteins, and vitamins at European-based site.
-
LanguaLProvides links for food composition lists from around the world.
-
USDA Nutrient Data LaboratoryThis database provides nutrient content for a full-range of foods. Also supplies lists of foods containing specific individual nutrients.
