Helpful Books & DVDs @ the Harborside Library
Check out the Harborside Library shelves marked “Food Science” (TP1-TP500), “Food Safety” & “Food Analysis” (both in the TX500s section).
The following are also great food science resources:
-
CookWise
by
Call Number: TX714 .C6917 1997ISBN: 9780688102296Publication Date: 1997-08-21Offering "the hows and whys of successful cooking," Cookwise, by well-known food writer and culinary sleuth Shirley O. Corriher, tells you how and why things happen in the course of food preparation. -
Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition - edited by Benjamin Caballero, Luiz Trugo and Paul Finglas
Call Number: TX349 .E63 2003ISBN: 012227055XNote: Library use only; 2nd ed.; 10 vol. -
-
How baking works : exploring the fundamentals of baking science
by
Call Number: TX763 .F54 2008ISBN: 0471747238Note: Library use only -
On food and cooking : the science and lore of the kitchen
by
Call Number: TX651 .M27 2004ISBN: 0684800012Note: Located at library desk; Library use only -
What Einstein told his cook : kitchen science explained
by
Call Number: TX652 .W643 2002ISBN: 0393011836 -
What Einstein told his cook 2 : the sequel : further adventures in kitchen science
by
Call Number: TX652 .W642 2005ISBN: 0393058697 -
Good Eats with Alton Brown (DVD collection)Note: DVD Collection
The Science of Food
Harold McGee, author of On Food and Cooking, explains the chemistry of crema. Explore more everyday food science at NPR's Science Friday.
Science & Cooking Lecture Series @ Harvard
Learn about Harvard University's "Science & Cooking" course and free public lectures, featuring world-class culinary professionals such as Harold McGee, Ferran Adria, and Wylie Defresne or watch these amazing lectures online!
Featured Resource: Food Science Source
Find articles about Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
-
Food Science Source (EBSCO)Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
Culinary Databases
Search the Web for Free Articles
This search engine locates scholarly literature including articles that are accessible online.
(Include the phrases “full-text” or “view HTML” or “view PDF” in your search to help identify articles available full-text.)
eBooks
Food Science Websites
-
Food Resource @ Oregon StateFood Science 101
-
Institute of Food ResearchThis United Kingdom-based organization focuses on food science and how it can improve health and reduce the risk of food-related diseases. Provides free access to organization’s research through newsletters and press releases.
-
Institute of Food TechnologistsRead articles from Food Technology magazine. In the Education and Outreach section, find a basic overview of food science and simple experiments.
-
Science.govThis site provides a list of links to federal government sites dealing with the topic "Food Science & Technology".
-
US FDA Center for Food Safety & Applied NutritionThis site's "Library of Chemistry" page features a large list of government, commercial, and educational links. See the "Food & Chemistry" section halfway down the page.
People are Talking ...
-
Curious CookCheck out what food-science-guru Harold McGee is reporting on these days! (He wrote the indispensible book "On Food and Cooking".)
-
Kitchen Mysteries with the Food GeekRead easy-to-understand explanations to various food science questions.
Definition, Please ...
-
Food Science GlossariesLook up that scientific word here.
