Recommended Books
The City, the River, the Bridge: Before and After the Minneapolis Bridge CollapsePublication Date: 2011E-book.
Industry Profiles
This will direct you to an in-depth profile of the bridge and tunnel industry in the US.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching America's bridge infrastructure.. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated. Restricted to the Johnson & Wales community.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Other Industry Background
- Bridge, Tunnel, and Elevated Highway ConstructionFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on the industry's organization/structure, background, growth, current conditions, leaders, workforce and more.
This industry "snapshot" narrative provides additional information about the America's bridges and related structures.
Other Useful Resources
- Bridge Engineering Home PageFrom SC Solutions, Inc. Very useful directory of bridge-related links, including government agencies (international, national, state), industry organizations, publications, software, "other links".
- Bridge TrackerFrom NBCNEWS.com.
- Federal Bridge Safety Regulation and FundingFrom About.com.
- Highway Bridge ProgramFrom the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO)
- National Bridge Inspection StandardsFrom the Federal Highway Administration.
- National Bridge Inventory DatabaseProvides data on bridges and related structures in all 50 states. Includes location, year built, "facility carried", condition and "sufficiency rating". Nationalbridges.com creates this database from data from the Federal Highway Administration.
- The Fix We're In For: The State of Our BridgesFrom "Transportation for America". Ranks bridges' maintenance/repair by states. Includes a national report.
