Recommended Books
Industry Profiles
These databases will direct you to in-depth profiles of the water resources management industry.
- First ResearchBegin with "Industry and Geographic Profile" Select "Water & Sewer Services", This profile includes an overview, quarterly industry update, financial information and more. Also includes "Call Prep Questions", an excellent resource for anyone preparing for job interviews.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching water resources management. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated. Restricted to the Johnson & Wales community.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Other Industry Background
- Water SupplyFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, background/development, current conditions, leaders, workforce, industry/technology and more.
This industry "snapshot" narrative provides additional information about water resources management.
Other Useful Resources
- Water - Statista Dossier 2017From the "Statista" database. Data on water consumption, access to water resources and water infrastructure, for both the U.S. and worldwide.
- Water Resources ManagementFrom the RAND Corporation. Includes reports, journal articles, projects and more. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tank".
- Water Sector-Specific PlanFrom the Department of Homeland Security. Provides an in-depth plan of the role of the water supply in supporting DHS's protection of America's infrastructure.
- Water Supply.From the RAND Corporation. Includes reports, journal articles and more. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
- Water Utilities Industry Profile: United StatesIndustry Profile (Business Source Complete)
