Recommended Books
International Maritime Security Law by ISBN: 9004233571Publication Date: 2013-01-01International Maritime Security Law, by James Kraska and Raul Pedrozo, defines an emerging interdisciplinary field of law and policy comprised of norms, legal regimes, and rules to address today's hybrid threats to the global order of the oceans
Industry Profiles
These databases will direct you to in-depth profiles of the industries involved in water transportation.
- First ResearchBegin with "Industry and Geographic Profile". Select the following profiles: "Coastal and Great Lake Freight Transportation", "Inland Water Freight Transportation", "Port, Harbor & Marine Terminal Management". Each profile includes an overview, quarterly industry update, financial information and more. Also includes "Call Prep Questions", an excellent resource for anyone preparing for job interviews.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching America's harbor/port infrastructure and related industries. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated. Restricted to the Johnson & Wales community.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Other Useful Resources
- America's Container PortsFrom the "Statista" database. From the U.S. Department of Transporation.
- Atlantic Coast U.S. Seaports 2010From the "Statista" database. Compiled by the U.S. Department of Transportation.
- Container Shipping - Statista Dossier 2017From the "Statista" database.
- International SeaportsFrom FITA. Directory of links to international seaports of the world. Also links to additional "useful" sites for information/services of seaports.
- Marine Cargo HandlingNarrative profile from the "Encyclopedia of American Industries" (2012).
- Port Industry StatisticsFrom the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA)
- Waterborne Commerce Statistics CenterFrom the US Army Corps of Engineers.
Points to Ponder ...
- America's Ailing Ports Invisible Amid the Country's Failing InfrastructureFrom the Washington Post.
- America's Maritime Infrastructure: Crying Out For DollarsFrom the Economist.
- America's Outdated Waterways, Ports Huring EconomyFrom the Homeland Security News Wire.
- Deterioration of Shipping Port InfrastructureFrom About.com.
- Structural Undermining of Water InfrastructureFrom About.com.
- Urgent Need to Upgrade U.S. Ports InfrastructureFrom Thomas.net
