Recommended Books
Managing Aviation Projects from Concept to Completion by ISBN: 9780754676157Publication Date: 2009-11-28Triant Flouris is a prominent academic and administrator in aviation management education; Dennis Lock has more than forty years experience in practicing, lecturing and writing about project management. When these two experts combined their considerable talents to write their earlier book Aviation Project Management, it was little wonder that distinguished reviewers gave generous praise and acclaimed it as a welcome addition to what, until then, had been a neglected field.
Industry Profiles
These databases will direct you to in-depth profiles of the industries involved in transportation.
- First ResearchBegin with "Industry and Geographic Profile". There are two industry profiles: "Airlines" and "Airport Operations", Each profile includes an overview, quarterly industry update, financial information and more. Also includes "Call Prep Questions", an excellent resource for anyone preparing for job interviews.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching America's aviation infrastructure. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated. Restricted to the Johnson & Wales community.
- Business Insights GlobalProvides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Other Industry Background
- Airports, Flying Fields, and Airport Terminal ServicesFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, background, growth, current conditions, leaders, workforce and more.
These industry "snapshot" narratives provide additional information about the aviation industry.
- Air Transportation, ScheduledFrom the Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on organization/structure, background/development, current conditions, leaders, workforce, industry/technology.
- Aviation SecurityFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on the industry's organization/structure, background, growth, current conditions, leaders, workforce and more.
Other Useful Resources
- ACI-NA Warns About Declining US Airport InfrastructureFrom Air Transport World (ATWOnline)
- Air TransportationFrom the Rand Corporation. Includes reports on aviation infrastructure and related topics. From one of America's premier "think tanks".
- Air Transportion - Statista Dossier 2012From the "Statista" database.
- Infrastructure Needs Challenging the Top Airports Driving America's Economic RecoveryFrom the Forum for Innovation
- Passenger Airlines - Statista Dossier 2017From the "Statista" database.
- Why We Should Invest Today in 'Airports Inc.'Bu Greg Principato, president of Airports Council International - North America.
