Recommended Books
Report Card for America's Infrastructure
Produced by the American Society of Civil Engineers, this "report card" examines the state of the U.S.'s infrastructure and finds it wanting. In addition to profiling the nation's infrastructure in 15 categories, it also issues ratings for each state.
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching America's infrastructure. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated. Restricted to the Johnson & Wales community.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
- StatistaStatistics, market studies & reports for over 600 international industries, 37 countries, and 60,000 wide-ranging topics! Enter your own search terms or browse data reports listed under these links: Categories, Key Topics, Popular Statistics, and Recent Statistics. A sampling includes college enrollment with projections up to 2020 in the U.S., college payment (how U.S. families pay for college), college sports, debit cards, demographics (size & characteristics of a population), employment outlook, food & beverage, footwear & apparel, global climate change, hospital costs, hospitality (conventions, conferences, dining & accommodations), immigration, mobile Internet & apps, nutrition, online shopping, personal debt, smartphones, social media, travel & tourism (cruise industry), video gaming, wages & salaries. NOTE: Click through any security certificate warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear in order to proceed to the Statista website and display all content.
Other Useful Resources
- Heavy Infrastructure Construction in the USFrom IBISWorld.This profile provides information on the industry's includes an overview, outlook, "competitive landscape" and more.
- InfrastructureFrom the RAND Corporation. Links several hundred resources on numerous aspects of infrastructure including reports, commentary articles and more. This is an outstanding resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
- Infrastructure FinanceFrom the RAND Corporation. Includes reports, articles, commentary and more on financial infrastructure considerations. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
- The Infrastructure Security Partnership (TISP)TISP is "a national partnership of agencies, companies, associations of individuals sharing a common interest in increasing the capacity of our infrastructure to absorb or mitigate the impact of hazardous events while maintaining and restoring critical services".
Points to Ponder...
- America's Crumbling InfrastructureFrom "Policy Today"
- Cost of Corrosion Annually in the US Over &1 TrillionFrom G2MT Labs.
- Crisis in America: A Crumbling InfrastructureMEGATRENDS: A CNBC Special Report. Links to related reports and resources.
- Decaying Infrastructure Costs U.S. Billions Each Year"From the Washington Post.
- Infrastructure InvestmentFrom the Associated General Contractors of America (AGCA). Provides a concise overview of the status of all aspects of the transportation and water infrastructures of the U.S. and the AGCA's suggestions of how to deal with improving them.
- The 10 Pieces of U.S. Infrastructure We Must Fix NowFrom "Popular Mechanics". Highlights some of the most serious deficiencies in transportation infrastructure and water infrastructure.
