Recommended Book
Industry Profiles
These databases will direct you to in-depth profiles of the industries involved in transportation.
- First ResearchBegin with "Industry and Geographic Profile" Select the following industry profiles: "Bus Transportation Services", "Highway, Street & Bridge Construction", "Specialty Trucking", "Trucking" and "Truckload Carriers" Each profile includes an overview, quarterly industry update, financial information and more. Also includes "Call Prep Questions", an excellent resource for anyone preparing for job interviews.
- IBISWorldIndustry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching America's road and highway infrastructure. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated. Restricted to the Johnson & Wales community.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Other Industry Background
- Highway and Street ConstructionFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, background/development, current conditions, leaders, workforce, research/technology and more.
These industry "snapshot" narratives provide additional information about industries dealing with road transport and road maintenance.
- Intercity and Rural Bus TransportationFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, background/development, growth, current conditions, leaders, workforce and more.
- Local and Suburban TransitFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, background/development, current conditions, leaders, workforce and more.
- Local Trucking Without StorageFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, current conditions, leaders.
- Trucking Except LocalFrom the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, background/development, current conditions, leaders, workforce and more.
Other Useful Resources
- America's Aging Highway Infrastructure - Ignoring the ObviousFrom "Viable Opposition".
- Benefits of a 'Fix It First' Approach to America's Ailing InfrastructureFrom the Brookings Institution. "Blog Post" discussing various options for improving and revitalizing the U.S.'s deteriorating interstate highway system and other infrastructure problems.
- FTA Transit Safety and Oversight (TSO)From the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Transit Authority.
- Highway Performance Monitoring System (HPMS)From the Office of Highway Policy Information. Provides data on toll facilities in the U.S. (Bridges-Roads-Tunnels-Ferries). Best officical source for data on nation's toll facilties.
- Highway TransportationFrom the Rand Corporation. Includes reports on highway infrastructure and related topics. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
- Interstate Highway SystemFrom The Balance
- Interstate Highway SystemFrom the History Channel. Brief history of the interstate highway system.
- National Traffic and Road Closure InformationFrom the Federal Highway Administration
- Our Nation's Highways 2011From the "Statista" database. Prepared by the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration.
