SPL5100 Library Resources
The Transforming Leader by To succeed, today's leaders must not only optimize all their own faculties--mental sharpness, emotional depth, imagination, and creativity--but also utilize the full capacities of those around them in a collaborative and creative manner. The Transforming Leader offers an overview of what transformational leadership is.
Contemporary Issues in Leadership by The seventh edition of this popular anthology continues its interdisciplinary approach to the topic of leadership and draws together new material describing the chief concerns facing leaders today.
Sustainable Event Management by Gatherings of people for a purpose always have and always will be a part of the human story. Those staging these events have a social and environmental responsibility to manage their impacts and enhance their positive lasting legacies.
The Event Marketing Handbook by Event marketing is big business: U.S. corporations invest more than $300 billion a year in every kind of event-from webinars, tradeshows, product launches, and golf hospitality functions, to user groups and customer conferences.
- Beijing Stadium - Full Video (50:06)Using aerial photography and computer generated images, this film brings you as close to the construction site as the design engineers and construction workers who formed cement, welded beams, and operated hydraulics and lifting jacks during the incredible construction project. A National Geographic Production.
- Leisure Spaces - Full Video (24:04)Leisure activities are as fundamental to society as work or rest. This video looks at the challenges of building arenas for popular entertainment.
- Modern Marvels: Baseball Parks - Full Video (46:09)Parks are part of the enduring legacy of baseball in America. Modern baseball parks provide many amenities to keep fans coming back time and again.
- The Yoyogo Olympic Gymnasium: Architectures—Achievements in Modern Architecture - Full Video (25:47)Architect Kenzo Tange was one of the post-war leaders of the modern movement in Japan. The style of this movement includes structural elements being exposed on the outside of buildings, a lack of exterior design, and the use of construction materials.
- Sports Worlds - Full Video (26:04)Sustainability is increasingly a consideration in the design of sports facilities. This film shows how these concerns influences architecture for the 2012 London Olympics and the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics, and the soccer stadium built for remote Manaus, Brazil, for the 2014 World Cup.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- For full-text articles and book chapters: SELECT "Only content I have access to" and look for the solid green, square icon
- This site does not work with Internet Explorer
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism.
