Hi, I'm Ariela McCaffrey, your personal librarian for this course. I order all the books and electronic resources for the Sports, Entertainment, Events Management program. I've also worked at Johnson & Wales for sixteen years so I can help you with research, and answer just about any question you might have.
Please feel free to email me - email@example.com.
Also known as industry magazines.
Appearance: Generally attractive and are often illustrated with color photographs.
Audience: Written for industry professionals.
Author/Authority: Articles written by staff writers, though the magazine may sometimes accept articles from industry professionals.
Citations: Occasionally list references at the end of the article or provide footnotes within the text.
Content: Includes current events and special features within a particular profession or industry.
Frequency: Usually published biweekly or monthly.
Find trade magazines in these databases:
Also known as scholarly, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals.
Appearance: Generally have a sober, serious look. May contain graphs and charts, but few glossy photographs. Scholarly language with vocabulary specific to their profession or field.
Audience: Written for academics and professionals.
Author/Authority: Articles written by researchers or scholars in the field who report the results of original research.
Citations: Articles include footnotes and a list of citations at the end of the article.
Content: New research in the field. Articles contain an abstract, methodology, discussion, charts or tables, results, conclusions, and references.
Frequency: Usually published bimonthly or quarterly.
Find scholarly journals in these databases:
Yes, you can create a Wikipedia article or edit an existing entry.
Find more information at the Wikipedia Community Portal or watch the videos below.
Websites v. Library Databases
|Websites (Wikipedia, About.com, etc)||Library Databases|
An author of a website is often difficult to verify. Cannot limit to professional, scholarly literature. Information on the Web is seldom regulated, which means authority is often in doubt.
Authority is easier to identify in databases. Most databases include detailed information about articles including author and original publication. The more you know about a source, the easier it is to verify accuracy.
|Number of Hits||Millions of hits, much of the same information repackaged. Duplicates are not filtered out.||Hundreds of hits - a more manageable number, duplicates can be filtered out, and ability to restrict to date range.|
|Cost||Many websites, like Wikipedia, are free. But often, you'll run into paywalls where access is restricted to only subscribers.||The library databases are available to the entire JWU community. High-quality, accurate, information is guaranteed through the library's homepage. Subscriptions cost over 5k and provide a wide variety of Ebooks, articles, and video to JWU.|
|Searching||Hard to limit searches. Cannot restrict to only current publications or peer reviewed sources.||Advanced search features include limiting by publication type, date, language, document format, scholarly/peer-reviewed status.|
|Access to Published Information||Web information is created by anyone with Internet access. Seldom is the information coming from legitimate published sources: magazines, academic journals, books, - without a fee.||
Databases index only published information, Information that originally appeared in print: magazine and journal articles, books, etc. Through the library’s homepage, all of the content in the databases is available to JWU for free.