Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for SEE3065. I can help you find articles and other sources or answer other questions about research or formatting works cited/references.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel@jwu.edu | 401-598-1887
Did you know you can also chat or text with one of our on-duty librarians? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Click on the chat button below to ask a librarian a question.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Sports and sports medicine research including nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology
- In addition to journals and ebooks, the database includes references to thousands of dissertations and theses
What is a trade publication, also known as an industry magazine or trade journal?
Appearance: Generally attractive and are often illustrated with color photographs.
Audience: Written for industry professionals.
Author/Authority: Articles written by staff writers, though the magazine may sometimes accept articles from industry professionals.
Citations: Occasionally list references at the end of the article or provide footnotes within the text.
Content: Includes current events and special features within a particular profession or industry.
Frequency: Usually published biweekly or monthly.
Examples:
How can you find a trade publication?
There are a few ways to find trade publications that are specific to sports and event management.
One way is to search through the EBSCO databases like this:
1. From the JWU library homepage, click on the blue "Articles" tab and then on the "Advanced Articles Search" text below the red
search button.
2. From there, type "sport event management" (placing the words within quotation marks) or other key words or phrases that are specific or important to the industry.
Click on the green "search" button to see the results.
3. You will find a "refine results" menu on the left side of the results page.
- Here you can limit your results to "full text" (which means articles and journals that the library has access to.
- You can also change the publication dates to be more current: such as 2008 to 2018.
- Finally, limit the results to "Trade publications."
Now, all of your results will be more recent, full text, and from trade publications.
For more help and guidance, contact your librarian here.
To search for Trade Publications, follow these steps from the library homepage or in any EBSCO database (like Academic Search Complete)
The library's databases rely on a method of searching called Boolean logic. It is a system of showing the relationship between ideas using the operators "AND," "OR," and "NOT." This logic is recognized by many searching tools as a way to define a search string.
Using the operators
AND is used to to search a set of two or more related ideas. So, if you want to look for articles that contain both the words or concepts fishery and harvest, you would search for that string.
- Use AND to narrow your search
- AND shows the overlap between two concepts
For example, my search for "fishery and harvest" returned over 2,000 results, which is too many for me to browse through. So, I had to think another aspect of the topic I was interested in. When I changed my search string to "fishery and harvest and bioindicators," the number of results became more manageable.
OR is used when there are synonyms of a term that may appear in relevant articles. Searching, for example, reindeer or caribou will cast the widest net for seraching.
- Use OR to broaden your search
NOT eliminates a term from your search. If, for instance, your initial search for "fishery and harvest" returns mostly articles about salmon, and you are not interested in that particular fish, you can search "fishery and harvest not salmon."
Publication Date
The databases will allow you a variety of options to refine your results, typically on the left hand side of your results page. Pay attention to these and especially consider limiting your results by their publication date. Chances are, you do not want articles written more than a few years ago.
Explicit Search
If you are searching for content about, for instance, higher education, consider that this is actually a phrase (consisting of more than one word), and search for it explicitly using quotation marks. As in, "higher education."
Truncation
In many cases, there will be multiple suffixes to a single root word that you'd like to search. Most databases allow the * to be used in place of the ending for a word in order to capture all forms.
For example, a search for "nation*" will return all forms of the word - including nations, national, nationalism, nationalistic, etc.
Avoid adding the plural "s" to a word where possible, and use the truncation symbol when you search should allow for multiple forms of your search terms.
